current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-10-16 - 12:30 a.m.

I really feel like Elizabeth and are are actually becoming friends. She called me today and we talked for awhile, and she brought up the idea of us all getting together on Saturday. I am so insecure about friendships (more so than about relationships with boys) that I never really allow myself the idea that someone would really want to be my friend, too. I have always really liked her (at first I thought maybe she didn't like me, but I discovered she is one of those shy people who give off the appearance of being outgoing). Anyway, I am really happy about the whole thing, especially because she will be moving to Portland in the spring.

My teeth hurt horribly. I'm no longer as stoked (haven't heard that word in awhile, have you?) about the whole dentist adventure. I took some Excedrin earlier, but I think I may need more.

Speaking of Excedrin, don't you hate those commercials? They drive me crazy because they get all close in on the person, and they are talking about how they have a "serious" headache. They annoy me and weird me out at the same time. Like, let me break it down to you, I have a "real" headache, not a headache you can play around with, okay? Let me school you on what you should do in this situation, okay? Um, yeah.

I hate most commercials because I would say more than anything else in mass media, they emphasize the status quo: Moms cook and clean at all times, dads are useless without mom around, teenagers are rebels, and boys and girls each play with their own "boy" or "girl" toys. I said awhile ago that I should start a list of bad commercials that contribute to "the man" holding us down, and maybe I'll get on that soon. I suppose there are bigger causes I should be concerned about, but I'm tired of getting angry at my TV.

I can honestly say that I miss school right now. I've been doing a whole lot of nothing. I did get more packing done, but really--I should have packed my entire house by now!

Edited to add:
For some reason, it entertains me to look at personal ads. Well, I got the bright idea to look in my area. I was shocked to discover personal ads by three people I know! One former student, one teacher, and the guy that works at this store I go to all the time (I always try to avoid him because he is too friendly). HOW BIZARRE!!!!!

previous - next