current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-09-16 - 10:14 p.m.

Hey, two entries in one day. Of course as soon as I got here I forgot what was so important that I needed to write two entries today.

Jasmine called me today and left me a message to call her. She's sick already--she started teaching first grade as a first year teacher at the same time I started. I didn't call her back. Yes, I feel guilty. I told my cousin the whole story (she was here this weekend to drink beer with me and help me look for an apartment) and she thought maybe I should write Jasmine a letter. Everyone I tell the story to is appalled. I'm appalled. Now I am starting to think maybe I am just as bad because I talk so much smack about her. You know how you know that something you just did is going to be a mean funny story about you later? That's how Cassandra and I feel about Jasmine. The whole time we could just hear her telling her friends how annoying we were.

I went to school today. The worst thing in the world is going to school on a Sunday. I try to avoid it, but I felt obligated to grade their Beowulf tests to give them back tomorrow. They didn't do quite as bad as expected. From the way they were talking about it it was the hardest test in the history of the universe and it was SO unbelievable that I would dare only have essay questions. But actually when you factor my lenient grading into the picture, a lot did fairly well. I decided that since this is the first ever Ms. Boombastic test I will allow them to take their tests home and make corrections and I will average the original score with the new and improved score to get their grade. What's important is that they learn the information, right? So anyway, I'll just warn them not to expect this in the future. I feel good about my new and improved reputation as a hard teacher. Leslie, who had me last year, told me that she told people that I was a nice teacher who let them slide on some things and after everyone saw my test they were asking her what she was talking about! HA HA.

We honored the day of silence on Friday. This meant that the cheerleaders' planned pep assembly was cancelled on the morning of because one teacher complained about anyone being peppy during this time. However, we still had the game. The cheerleaders freaked. I have no opinion. I seriously feel sorry for our cheerleaders in general. I always had the impression that cheerleaders were popular and envied. Our cheerleaders are as popular as anyone else, but they are certainly not envied. Everyone makes fun of them, and sorry to say, there is good reason. They just don't have what it takes to get everyone cheery. They lack energy. Their tricks aren't that good. They even do some cheers from Bring it On and it just isn't happening for them. I have a number of them and they are sweethearts but I just feel bad about their cheering.

One of my students from last year had his brother (who I now have) bring me a poster. It is of Bart Simpson writing on the chalkboard all the things he will not do. It's cute and I put it up. I just sent him a letter since I got one from him--he's in bootcamp. I'm worried about all my kiddies from last year who joined the services. Hopefully they will all be okay. The one that asked me to prom wasn't supposed to go to bootcamp until November. I am really scared about him in bootcamp because he is majorly ADHD and I am afraid he will get in trouble a lot for bouncing off the walls. Maybe he will be able to control himself a little more than he could in my class? I got another letter from the kid who writes me the most. He sent me a tape of his music but I haven't had a spare minute to listen to it yet. I'm looking forward to it.

My cousin was helping me pack and I felt a little weird about it for some reason. She was packing my CDs and she said I truly have the widest music taste ever. I do not disagree with that. I also revealed to her that I am a Nsync etc. fan. That actually would have come up even if she had not looked through my CDs because she saw my Justin Timberlake calendar. Yes, I do have a Justin Timberlake calendar. By the way, I saw the preview of that new movie that has Joey Fatone and Lance Bass in it. It looks totally cheese but totally good. I am definitely seeing it! I had no idea that you pronounced Bass like the shoes rather than like the musical bass. I was disappointed by that. My cousin was unclear about why I was squeezing her arm so hard during the preview; I had to explain that Joey and Lance were from Nsync. Sheesh.

Oh, the preview was during The Princess Diaries which I finally managed to con someone into seeing. It was good but not as good as I was anticipating. I was totally shocked by Mandy Moore's key role. She is weird. We were actually going to see Rock Star with my boyfriend and my if-i-was-a-lesbian-she-would-be-my-girlfriend (Jennifer Aniston). Then we saw that they were having a later showing of The Princess Diaries and we made an impulse decision to see it. I am not sure if I made the right choice, but hopefully I can find someone to go with me to Rock Star. I already told Lucia that she has to hang out with me now that the wedding is over. Jeff #1 knows all about my Mark Wahlberg fetish (I saw Boogie Nights with both of them). So maybe he will go with us. He is so much fun.

previous - next