current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-01-21 - 8:46 p.m.

Day Two of Exercise: 30 minutes on my Gazelle Edge (my calves actually hurt!)

I feel obligated to post my thoughts on this evening's episode of Boston Public because Shaun said he always likes hearing my thoughts on the show. I was shocked to hear that he sometimes disagrees with my opinions on the show, as I thought everyone agreed with my opinions at all times! Anyway, I feel special for getting mentioned twice in the past week or so on his page. Don't forget to check out his page because he just put up a Jordan Catalano update, and I live for the Jordan Catalano updates (as everyone should).

But back to my feelings on the episode. I actually thought it was one of the better episodes of Boston Public. As far as the prayer in school thing goes, I am actually more uncomfortable about the flag salute than about different religious groups meeting on school grounds. I do believe in separation of church and state but I didn't think what Marla did was any big deal. As far as the whole pregnancy issue, I thought that was pretty sick that the parents asked her to carry the baby. The question I found myself asking is why they couldn't hire a surrogate mother instead of having their daughter carry the baby? I feel bad for the girl having to go to a foster home, but under the law the teacher had to report that since the girl was definitely a harm to herself and could be seen as being abused. Anyway, I feel insecure about my comments now that I know someone else is anticipating them!!! Ha ha.

Today was a really boring day, other than being proud of myself for exercising. I went to school to do five hours worth of grading, and am still not done. It is all because of the terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad journals. I was caught up until they came back into the picture. I love/hate them, as you can imagine. So far I haven't found out any good gossip either.

Happy Martin Luther King, jr. Day! I think it's especially important to think about Dr. King and his message right about now. It always amazes me that the Civil Rights Movement was only 30-40 years ago. Of course, we do need to keep in mind that there is so much more that needs to change in the United States as far as race relations go.

previous - next