current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2007-07-30 - 2:43 p.m.

In the past week, I have had some pretty amazing dates with P. My third date with him was on Tuesday. He invited me to go to this really nice, romantic restaurant. I have never been to a restaurant like this on a date, and I was a little overwhelmed by it because it was pretty expensive. Anyway, he called me on the way to say that he forgot his wallet and had to turn around so he was going to be a tiny bit late, so I should just sit down and order a drink while I wait for him. I got the the restaurant and it was really dark and romantic. I ordered a pink martini, which was vanilla vodka, cranberry and pineapple, and it was really good. Most of the main courses were 20-25 dollars, so I felt a little bit intimidated by that, but he said he had been there before so I guess he knew the price range. When he got there he said, "The one who is late has to buy dinner," which was sweet. We ended up ordering this crab appetizer and then he ordered a risotto dish, and I ordered halibut. It was really good (but still I felt weird about it being so expensive). There was a mistake where the waiter brought the wrong order for me and so we had to wait a little bit longer, so he gave us free dessert. I thought that was sweet. One thing I really like about P is that he is super polite to waiters/waitresses. He also was polite to me because when there was the mix-up, he asked them to take back his dinner, too, until mine was ready.

Anyway, we had a good conversation, and he said almost right away, "I'm going to be really selfish. I really want to see you again before you leave for Costa Rica, and I know you are really busy, but do you have any time?" So I said we could get together on Friday.

We decided to go to another bar to try to play shuffleboard, but it was taken, so we just played pool again. I paid for the drinks there to make up for the expensive dinner. When we walked to the place he held my hand. Then after that we went to this little park in the middle of the park blocks. We were swinging, and my swing was making this horrible noise. It was like it was one of those night playground scenes in a horror movie. It was pretty funny. Anyway, I had stopped swinging to make the noise stop, and I was just sitting in my swing, and he got off his swing and kissed me. It was really nice and really romantic. Overall it seemed like he was really trying to impress me and be romantic but he wasn't doing it in a sleazy or over the top way. I felt like he was being really sincere about everything. He also is really great about giving compliments, which is so important to me, and of course everyone feels good with compliments! At the end of the date he gave me three CDs that he had said that he would copy for me. We like the same kind of music and so after our first date he said I needed to have these CDs and he would make them for me. He gave me Radiohead's OK Computer, Badly Drawn Boy, and The Shins' latest CD. I thought that was incredibly sweet, and I had made him a copy of a CD I wanted him to hear, too. At the end of the date he kissed me goodnight, and then he called me on his way home to tell me that he really liked the CD I copied for him.

At dinner we had talked about what we wanted to do for our next date, and I mentioned my Wiii and how I wanted him to try it out. Well, he said that he could come over, but I mentioned that I had a carrying case for it. So he said that I could bring it over to his house and he would cook me dinner. He really likes to cook. So he said that I could bring some wine over to go with the meal. He also asked me about what kind of dessert I like, and I mentioned Haagan Daaz chocolate.

Anyway, I was really starting to like him after that third date, but our fourth date was even better. He lives in Tigard (he is trying to sell his house, which will be nice because it's pretty far out there, and I am pretty far out in the other direction). Anyway, I got there and he was cooking already so he didn't show me around right away. His house was really nice, though. I met his adorable dog, who is a golden retriever. He had already made gespatcho (spelling?), which I had never had. It was really, really good. Then he made pork chops glazed with white wine and spices and these amazing little potatoes. It was soooooooooooooooo good. I was really impressed, and the wine that I got was good, thank goodness. He was really cute about the cooking, and when we sat down outside to eat he was telling me all about the technique and then saying that he used Spanish spices on the pork chops to try to keep with the Spanish theme. I said, "You're super cute with your cooking!" He said, "You're super cute all the time!" which made me laugh. So we were just relaxing after we ate and we talked about what we wanted to do next. I also brought three movies that I got from Blockbuster Online, so I told him about those. Then I asked him to show me the rest of the house. When we started to go upstairs he mentioned he had to tell me something that he hoped wouldn't be a deal breaker. He said when he moved out here (three years ago) he was married, and so the artwork was actually hers since she had lived here with him. That made me feel a little weird, and we talked about it more in depth when we got back downstairs. I said I had wondered why we hadn't talked about past relationships on our previous dates, and he said that he thought that it would come up when I came over. So I asked him for more details and he said that they had been separated and living completely apart for two years, and the divorce was finalized five months ago. They had been together for seven years but had problems for a lot of that time, and probably should not have ever gotten married. He asked me if that was a deal-breaker and I said no, but I was a little wary because of fears he might have a lot of baggage. We talked about that, and then my past relationships, and I told him that I actually have a lot of baggage but am working on it. We also talked about what we are looking for. He said he is looking for a partner and he doesn't want to be the dominant one who takes care of everything, even though he can take care of things he wants to be equal because his personality is not dominant. I thought it was kind of interesting because he seems pretty take charge as far as coming up with things for us to do, but I thought that was nice. He also mentioned something I said in my ad (and that was a while ago that he responded to the ad). He said how I wanted someone who is in touch with their emotions and he liked that because he is an emotional person. So he asked me about what I am looking for, too. It was a good conversation. To me, the marriage thing is not a huge issue. Lots of people at this age are getting divorced, to be honest, because you change so much between your twenties and thirties (I think). He's 32, and both his brother and sister are married with kids, and his parents are still married. I think it is understandable that he would have gotten married. The big thing that worries me about someone who has been married is maybe they will be wary about getting married again. On the other hand, someone who has been married probably isn't afraid of commitment. So we'll see.

After that we started watching Zodiac, but it was kind of disturbing and not a very good date movie. We decided to turn it off and watched Say Anything, which he had, which was perfect because we had both seen it tons of times but it was still romantic. So we could talk and hang out without worrying about missing anything. We were sitting pretty close on the couch, but there was still room between us. Anyway, I was feeling pretty comfortable with him (he had already given me a kiss at dinner). He asked me if I was comfortable and I said yes, but then I told him he should sit closer to me. He was all into me saying that and he did. He put his hand on my leg and it was really nice. We kind of made out during the movie a little bit, but he was totally respectful. I could tell that he was into me and into it because it was pretty passionate, but he didn't try to do more than kiss me. He did touch my stomach and said it was cute and my face and hair. It was really romantic and nice. It's been a long time since I have done that.

While we were watching the movie I was getting kind of tired and I laid my head on his chest and he was rubbing my hair, which is my favorite thing ever. He said he likes how affectionate I am. Then when he was rubbing my hair I said that I might fall asleep and he said that would be ok. I just felt so comfortable and happy. I told him it was the perfect date, and I guess that made him happy, too.

So then after the movie was over he checked the time and said it was midnight and he wondered if we could watch another movie. I said that I should probably go home soon, and he said, "That's not what I wanted to hear!" But then he reminded me that he got ice cream. He bought my favorite ice cream (haagan daas chocolate) for dessert. How sweet is that? So we ate our ice cream, and then I left. He knew that I had plans on Saturday and Sunday already, so this would be the last time that I would see him before I left. I said I would talk to him before leaving, though.

Well, the next morning he sent me the best text message ever. I know that this is going to be totally cheesy for other people, but when you like someone the cheesiness is the best thing. We had talked about how he works too much and doesn't get enough sleep. So he text messaged and said, "It's been a good morning: lots of sleep, except when I was just lying there, thinking about you..." Um, sweetest thing ever. He also doesn't seem super corny or cheesy, he seems confident and self-assured, so that coming from him seemed even better.

Anyway, later that night he text messaged me that he knew I had plans Sunday evening but would I have time to meet him for brunch in the morning. I was out with my friends for Olivia's birthday party (and unfortunately got so drunk that I threw up and had a terrible hangover, have we heard this story before? ugh) So I had my sober friend text message him yes.

Anyway, it was another nice date. He called me and woke me up in the morning, and then I told him I wasn't feeling well so I needed a little bit more time. We met to eat and I had delicious scrambled eggs with tomatoes and feta cheese. He was so sweet about how I had a hangover and he was all excited that I went with him anyway. I also thought it was sweet because he paid the bill while I was in the bathroom. I said that I had planned to pay this time and he said that I could pay the next time. After eating I felt a lot better so we went for a walk in the Rose Gardens. We were talking about all kinds of stuff including relationships and family. This is the first guy that I have ever liked that has blue eyes. How strange is that? I am trying to have a balance between getting too excited and getting hurt and being open so I don't have a self-fulfilling prophecy. He seems so real and genuine and seems really into me, but not over the top. Anyway, when we were talking about birth order (he is the youngest, and I grew up as an only child, even though I am the oldest), we were talking about whether we had any characteristics of the birth order we have. I talked about how sometimes I can be selfish and want things my way and spoiled because of being an only. Well, later in the day he sent me the sweetest email. I am just going to cut and paste it in here: You sure don't act like much of an only child. When I made the CDs for you, you had one waiting to give to me... and every time I get the check, you make a point to thank me, even on our first date when you called b/c you forgot. I didn't notice that you forgot, but I sure noticed when you remembered.... I guess you can tell your mom she raised you well.

And by the way, on the surface, I called you at 9 this morning b/c I had texted about possibly meeting at 10 or 11 but what I really wanted was to wake you up. There's something very cute (and sexy) about the sleepy morning voice... you didn't disappoint me ;-)

And thanks again for powering through your hangover to meet me today.


I, of course, sent him back some compliments about how sweet and thoughtful HE is...but I am just so excited to be getting to know someone who says things like that.

I talked things over with Chad, who is still very upset about my dating again. We decided we will still talk, but we are not going to see each other for a long time. Neither of us like the idea of me dating someone else and then hanging out with him and being tempted by each other. We decided it is better for us not to hang out until we are over each other and then we can just hang out as friends. I feel really good about this decision. If something is meant to happen with him again it will happen later. I don't want to feel like I am being dishonest with P (not that we have made any sort of commitment, obviously, we just went on five dates). I really like him. Of course I still love Chad, but as we know that situation is JUST NOT WORKING!

I really feel so excited about P. I have to give him a name. I gave him his own ring tone already...I know, totally corny, but it's a Badly Drawn Boy song that I really loved.

Guess where I am going to be as of 12:30 tonight? COSTA RICA!!! I just wanted to write down the summary of the dates before I left so I wouldn't forget any details...I am sure I am going to have an amazing time, so I can't wait.

previous - next