current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-09-01 - 6:50 p.m.

I really did write another entry before, but diaryland ate it.

I'm feeling excited about school starting soon, although still nervous and overwhelmed. Tuesday is the first day of school, but only freshmen come that day, so I'll get them for fifteen minutes during the part of the day that they go through and find their classes. I'm not going to do much with them during that time (what can you do during fifteen minutes?) and will probably just introduce myself and make them introduce themselves and talk to them a bit. The next day is the first day with all of the kids, so I think all of the housekeeping stuff will take up that whole day. So I do have a bit of time to get my lessons ready...I want to get everything done tomorrow for the next few weeks, but who knows if that will happen.

On Friday we had a staff party at the principal's house and I brought Justin. I am feeling much more comfortable around other staff members. I am really, really excited about the other English teacher who transferred over. We worked together labeling all of the new books (it literally took hours) and we talked the whole time. He is just awesome, and so enthusiastic and easy to talk to. I'm really glad his room is so close to mine so I will actually communicate with another English teacher once in awhile. The other two were always so far away that I didn't see them much. And they were also sort of old-school, so I didn't really get many ideas from them. We also both have freshmen and sophomores so we can probably share some ideas. He's going to do silent reading with them, too, but on Mondays and Fridays for less time. It's nice to have a potential work friend. I just hate it how I don't have anyone around that if something bad happens to me during the course of the day I can go to their room and vent. I have to keep it bottled up until I get home.

I also like the newest science teacher and his girlfriend. She seemed really sweet. I only talked to her a few minutes, but I liked her right away. She is commuting to the town Justin lives in to go to school there, because she is in a masters program.

The next day, Justin came to work with me to help me do all of the stuff I needed to do. I made him do all the stuff around the classroom that needed to be done, like clear out file folders, stamp books, etc. It was really nice to have his help because that left me free to do the stuff to prepare for the first few days of school. He is such a good boyfriend. He also did all of my dishes this morning, and they had really been piling up.

We also tried this new restaurant here in town. I was hoping to find my new favorite restaurant, but I didn't care for it too much. It was also sort of expensive. I think I spent $24.00 total on my meal and dessert, and I didn't even like what I got. Oh well. I just want them to get one of the national chains out here (like Applebee's, Chili's, etc.) so I can have a place to go where I know what the food is like and know what to order every time. But I doubt that will happen.

So, I wanted to be ready for school completely by today, but that didn't happen. I'm going to go work on some lesson plans right now, though, so maybe I won't have too much to do tomorrow.

previous - next