current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-06-26 - 11:36 p.m.

Wow. I don't even know how to start this entry. Awhile ago I mentioned writing a letter to my father and I even posted it here. Well, I had to print it out at school and I just postponed it and postponed it. I finally printed it out and got my courage up to send it a few weeks ago.

I got an email from him today! The address that I had for him wasn't current, but he received it on Saturday, and emailed me on Monday. I feel overwhelmed and haven't really fully processed it yet, but I am so excited about the whole thing. I'm 24 years old and soon I will meet my father for the very first time! He mentioned feeling a mix of different emotions when he got my letter including sadness, guilt, awe, hope...he was very articulate in his email. He said he will call me later on this week so I will probably have more to say about this all then. I am nervous about talking to him. Basically he told me he was glad that I wrote and told me a little about himself and his kids and said he wants to meet me! HE HAS FIVE OTHER KIDS! The oldest is a boy, 22, then a girl, 20, another boy, 16, and then he got divorced and married again later. His two youngest are a girl, 11 and a boy, 9. (I approximated the ages from the birthdates, I'm not sure if this is exact). Although he didn't mention anything about it, I feel more hopeful that maybe someday I will get to meet them because of a few things. They already are used to having half brothers/sisters since he remarried, and also because he told me a little about them. I am really excited by the prospect, although who knows how everything will work out. He actually lives a state away now, but it sounds like he travels for his job. The other weird thing is that he teaches part time (middle school math) and his second wife is a teacher! Anyway, I will let you know more when I find out more. I am still feeling very crazy about the whole thing. I do feel the way that I wrote in the letter I sent him, but I also feel some anger as well. He mentioned that I am braver than him, so I assume that means that he thought about me and maybe wanted to get in touch with us. So I guess I will ask him about it when he calls.

I'm going to write more about what I've been up to since vacation started, but I think I need a new entry for that, since this is probably one of the most important events in my life.

previous - next