current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-10-13 - 5:33 p.m.

I've been reading Michael Moore's book, Stupid White Men, which I got for my birthday. It's pretty interesting. I love it when someone buys me a hardback book for a gift because normally I am far too cheap to buy hardback, so I have to wait forever to read the books I have been hearing about.

A long time ago I started doing one of those 101 things about me surveys, and I never finished it. I think the problem was that I was getting way too detailed. I really want to finish it sometime.

This has been a pretty good weekend and I am sad to see it come to an end. On Thursday we had a staff meeting all morning, then we went to see this guy give a presentation in the afternoon. He was actually pretty cool. I saw him at the NCTE conference before, but this time he was much more interesting. He was an older guy with a really incredible voice. It was deep and sounded very rich. I liked it. Anyway, he is one of the editors for our textbook, and he gave us some interesting ideas. I enjoyed it more than expected.

Friday was state-wide inservice day, but there isn't any money for us to go to any state-wide inservices, so it's really just a day off. Well, I used it for school, so I don't feel too guilty. I made Justin (who has his classes scheduled so that he has a three day weekend EVERY weekend)come help me grade papers and label new books again.

Saturday we spent lazing around most of the day. The highlight of the day was when Justin discovered that I have the Gameshow Network again! I have never been more happy to discover a new TV channel. You know about my love affair with that channel, but now it has all of these new games like Lingo, Whammy and Friend or Foe? to make my life complete. I was so excited.

On Saturday night Justin went home to work on his homework, so I actually got a lot done. I actually somehow managed to plan the next week and a half for all of my classes. This is unbelievable for me. So I felt really good about that. Then today I went back to school and got MOST of my grading done. I have a lot of journals left to grade, but I am not having them do journals this week, so I can take my time. This is the last of the six week grading period, so I am feeling pretty happy about that.

The weirdest thing that happened was that they ended up cutting the two teacher conference days. We had these conference days scheduled where we wouldn't have kids those two days. Well, as their first cut of days, they cut those ones. They are meeting again, soon, and we probably will have the spring conference days as well. So, this means an (unpaid) four day weekend is coming up. I'm not happy about not getting to meet the kids' parents, or about the lack of pay, but I am ecstatic about the four day weekend! Hopefully I can actually get a lot done in advance so I can enjoy most of it.

I can't remember if I mentioned that I saw Sweet Home Alabama. I enjoyed it because I love Reese Witherspoon, but it was definitely not a "good" movie. It was full of cliches and stereotypes, but it was still cute. There are a bunch of other movies that I want to see coming up. Not to mention that I got A Breakfast Club and Office Space for my birthday on DVD, and I want to watch those. I think that Office Space was my favorite present. See, a few weeks back, Justin and I rented it and I thought it was the most hillarious movie ever. I thought it was sweet that he noticed and bought it for me. My absolute favorite scene from the movie is when they all beat up the printer (fax machine?). That was the funniest scene I have seen in a long time.

I feel like such a bad teacher because I missed the Homecoming football game for the third time. I have never gone to one of these. I don't like football, but I need to be more supportive.

Have you ever had one of those dejavus with books? As far as I know, I have never before read The Miracle Worker. I am pretty sure I saw a TV movie about it, and I know the general story, but I remembered exact lines of dialogue while I was reading it. Could I have read it and forgot it? I am so weirded out by this. Anyway, the freshmen are going to read it. I am not sure how it will go over, especially since the majority of them hate to read out loud, but we'll see.

Next week some of my freshmen will be transferred into a new classroom. I have my fingers crossed about a few of them, awful as that may be. I just want to find out soon which ones are going!

Well, I'm looking forward to seeing how my lessons are going to go tomorrow. I was pretty excited about some of them, so I hope the kids like them, too.

previous - next