current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-02-20 - 6:20 p.m.

Today was a good day. Nothing too spectacular happened. I got this cool new clipboard/calculator/open-up-and-store- things thingie yesterday when we were shopping for school supplies. Anyway, I got one because I saw that Mr. Coolio-teacher-of-the-month had one. It looked so compact and convenient that I felt I had to have one too. It cost $15.00, but I'm worth it! It is really really cool. I used it all day today to hold my attendance cards and all of the daily papers (crap) they put into your mailbox at school, the papers that you can't deal with right away but you need in the future. I always lose those, so I think this is a solution since it has a compartment right in the clipboard to hold it. Anyway, the kids admired my new clipboard thingie and somehow one period found out I got the idea from Mr. Coolio. Well seventh period about five of them told me they had the scoop about why I got the clipboard and how I copied Mr. Coolio. It was so funny. I just try to imagine what their lives are like, how they manage to fit in gossip that is so random and insignificant.

I forgot to mention something about V-day. You know how I complain about the sophomores? My sophomore students were so sweet to me on V-day. I got candy and valentines from so many of them! I got one cupcake from a senior girl, but that was it from the seniors. So I guess sophomores are underrated. :)

I had a hard time sleeping last night because I finally found a new book to read that's really keeping my interest. I ordered it from the bookcart and it's really good, but sad. It's called There Are No Children Here. Apparently this guy who was a reporter was doing an article about kids living in Chicago projects in the late eighties and met and becamse friends with two young boys. He ended up hanging out with them all of the time and decided to write a book about them. I think it's really interesting so far. But it is definitely the kind of book that makes you feel so desperate and helpless that you want to scream. It was like when I saw this program on inequity in schools (based on Savage Inequalities). How can things be like this? How can the United States go on when things are so unfair? When children are forced to live like this? It just makes me so mad at our country, especially since as a nation we have so much. I try to be positive and uncynical, but it just sucks.

Anyway, I'm off to eat dinner. I think I'm actually finally getting over my cold. I am not too thrilled at the fact that now it means I will have to start exercising again.

previous - next