current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-03-28 - 12:42 p.m.

My party/non-party was fun and successful. I was really glad I ended up having it. As an adult I have never invited more than a few people over at a time, and I have never been brave enough to have anything resembling a party. When I lived in Hickville, USA, I had my own place but I didn't have any local friends to invite over. I guess I have always been afraid that if I had a party no one would show up. Apparently, my fears were unfounded. I guess people really are just excited to be invited .

The only time that I was nervous or crazy was before everyone came over. I made a bunch of appetizers and stuff like that, so I was nervous about timing it all. The nice thing about making all of the food is that you don't have to have that horrible potluck experience where no one eats what you brought and you feel like a big loser. Since we made everything, we just got to see what people liked. People really like brownies and cheese and crackers and they love those tiny weiner wraps.

Everyone arrived basically at the same time, which was really nice because we didn't have to have any awkward moments with the first people who arrived. We had the social studies teacher on my team, his wife (these were the people who rescued me when I was sick at that other party), the educational assistant on my team, her husband, the science teacher on my team, the girl who lives in my apartments, her pseudo-boyfriend, the PE teacher, and Mark, Elizabeth and Jason. This seemed like a lot of people in our apartment. It was a little stressful trying to get all of the drinks made for everyone at first, but it was fun and Justin did most of it. He seemed to be the drink master of the evening. The most popular drink was the mojito, and one guy even wrote down the recipe. I wasn't sure if everyone would feel comfortable and have fun together, because I just kind of chose people from our team and people that I liked from other teams. But everyone got along and had fun and were very festive. They played darts, we talked, and then we played the game Taboo, which is my favorite game ever. The only person that I hadn't met before was the educational assistant's husband and he was hilarious. He was very excited to try different cocktails, and at one point he came in the kitchen and invented his own drink of sweet and sour and vodka. Mark and Elizabeth said it was more fun than they thought it would be, too. Everyone stayed from 7 until midnight, so I thought that was a sign that they were having a good time. Justin also made cheesecake, which I personally think he loves to make because of the compliments. He got lots of compliments over it. In fact the social studies teacher said that he wanted to take him home, and that I didn't deserve such a wonderful man! Ha ha.

There were a few people that I invited that didn't come, but they hadn't said if they would be able to make it or not. The people that did come were so much fun. The PE teacher is one of my favorite people because we were talking about this game that we were thinking about playing. I said that everyone should play it and reminded the PE teacher of the time we played it at a bar. I said that it was fun except I suck at it (it involves singing), and that this girl Becky called me out and basically said that I sucked because in team vs. player she yelled, "We're going to play against Ms. B!" The PE teacher was like, "Yeah, she can be kind of intense!" So later on, Elizabeth was being really competitive and freaking out because Mark was distracting her during the game. The PE teacher said, "Relax, don't pull a Becky!" I cracked up so hard, and made him repeat it because I wasn't sure I heard him right. That completely made my night.

Anyway, I was so glad that things went well. Also, the science teacher has Ruben Studdard and Clay Aiken on CD, so he is going to let me burn copies. We actually decided we were going to have a CD burning party with each other since we have a lot of CDs that we each want.

This is the last day of my spring break. It really, really, really sucks. I don't want to go back to school. I think that this must be something like parents feel. I feel like I am two separate people--teacher Ms. B and non-teacher Ms. B. I like teaching, but it takes up my whole life during the week. On the weekend and vacation I get to just relax and be myself and not worry about anything. Maybe it's like that for people who have a normal job, too.

I think we are going to buy our tickets for Europe soon! I can't wait.

previous - next