current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-08-27 - 10:08 p.m.

I forgot to mention that we saw Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back. Overall I thought it was pretty good. There were some really really funny parts in it. I did think it was a bit long, and--surprisingly enough--Chris Rock's cameo wasn't all that funny. I liked all the other cameos though. My favorite Kevin Smith film is Mallrats.

I feel kind of bad because I got this call from my friend, Helen. Helen is one of my friends from my masters program. She is also my mom's age. Before I was in my masters program, I thought I would never be friends with someone who is older than me. I mean, I like my mom, but I just didn't see myself hanging out with older people. Anyway, in my program I became good friends with some of the people in my cohort, including Helen and Nancy. I guess that should explain the reason why I have two 40+ age friends. In any case, I have stayed in touch with both of them. I felt really bad because I said to Helen before school got out that I wanted her to come visit me sometime this summer here so she could see my place and we could hang out at the beach. She said that would be fun. Well, this summer went by in a flash and I never called and made definite plans. It was one of those things that I thought about but put off and thought, "Well she hasn't called me either." As it turns out, she started getting all paranoid (the way I do about people) that I thought she was too old and not fun to hang out with and so didn't want to bother me. That made me feel really bad because normally I am always the one who gets brushed off, not the other way around. I reassured her that I did want her to come and that I was really sorry that I hadn't called and made the plans before it was too late. I can't believe I did that--the worst part is that I really did want her to come.

I got really distracted and forgot I was writing this for some reason.

I feel like I am much less upbeat in here than in my old online journal. You know, I probably should have saved it on my computer somewhere, but instead I just---blam---deleted it all. Oh well. Years from now I will regret the loss of my ramblings about Three's Company.

previous - next