current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-09-03 - 3:34 p.m.

I've been working all day on planning for the first week and a half of school. I'm going to be doing short stories with the sophomores and Beowulf right away with the seniors. I really enjoy Beowulf. The kids last year seemed to like the whole Grendel thing, but it seemed like they didn't like it while we were reading it but they liked it afterwards. It seems like it is often like that. All year they talked about Grendel and "Gaywulf." It's so hard to break them of the habit of calling things that are stupid "gay." I'm doing my best... I think I will do The Illiad right after that with the advanced seniors. We'll see how that goes.

I still haven't decided what to wear tomorrow. There will only be freshman there so I don't want to wear my "first day of school outfit" yet. I really wish I had got more new clothes. One of the new outfits I did get makes me look rather like a schoolgirl (i.e. Britney Spears in the plaid skirt). I am not sure if I should wear that during the first week.

Last night I watched that movie Any Given Sunday on HBO. They show that movie just about every day, it seems, but I never watched the whole thing before. It was interesting, especially the camera work. I was also surprised by the full frontal male nudity. I was like "WHAAAT?!?!"

I think if I get through more of the planning on Beowulf I will reward myself with watching Almost Famous. I absolutely love that movie.

previous - next