current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-01 - 9:07 p.m.

I have been thinking about something for awhile and I just have to get it off my chest! I HATE it when people decide to talk about their period in their online journal and call it "Auntie Flo." Never in my life have I heard such a term! Where did this come from? Is this some cool and hip online journal thing that I am not a part of? I am sorry. Talk about your period if you must, but please don't call it "Auntie Flo." It seriously makes me want to vomit. This is worse than my previous number-one-worst-thing-to- call-your-period: on the rag.

My birthday is this Saturday and I will be the big two-four. I'm not at all pleased with how old I will be but I am pleased for my birthday. I am getting a digital camera from my mom. My mom, by the way, is having a terrible time teaching. I feel awful and nothing I suggest seems to help. I wish things were going well for her. Some of the things I can relate to, but other things I haven't had to experience. It sounds like it was a case of her being unsure of herself and all at the beginning and now things have gone to hell and it is hard to get things back once they have gone that far. I wish she would just come home but I know she will not give up. She thinks she is a terrible teacher but some of it she knows is not her. She seems to have tried everything. The kids complain all the time and it really gets her down (I have been there). Usually they will complain at first but as they get used to you they stop. I can't stand it when kids complain or say an assignment you worked hard on sucks. I haven't had it too much this year, even when I do KNOW that it sucks as I see how it progresses. The worst assignment this year was when I had the sophomores rewrite the writing scoring guide in their own words. This was something I heard was a good thing to do and it does have its good points. However the way I went about it did not work out well at all and they hated it. Rightfully so. Remind me never to do it that way again. I have dreaded to even look at what they turned in.

But back to the subject at hand--my birthday! Birthdays are a big deal in my family. I have progressively had worse and worse birthdays lately though. Last year was particularly bad and I am worried about my mom not being here. My mom always makes it special for me and now I have to count on Justin to do that all for me and he is being...I don't know. His family thinks of birthdays as nothing so he is not as big on it as I am and doesn't understand that on your birthday that is your special day and everyone should act accordingly. I have never seen such lame presents as his family gives.

I have serious deep rooted issues with his family that I won't discuss here but suffice it to say that they give LAME PRESENTS! This is an example: batteries in a Christmas stocking. (Batteries are a perfectly acceptable gift if accompanied by a cool new gadget that uses them. Batteries without a cool new gift that uses them are just lame. That would be the category these batteries fell under.) Another example would be that Justin has this weird skin rash sometimes that he buys this deep action lotion for. What was one of his Christmas presents last year? Deep action lotion. GIVE ME A BREAK! That is something you pick up at the store for someone when you are shopping, not something you buy and wrap up as a gift. I am outraged and appalled by his family and their gifts. And no, it is not about the money. It is just that they have no semblance of what a present should consist of. I am all for thoughtful but cheap gifts but the gifts always say things like, "I will buy a normal everyday item and pretend it is a gift." or "I will buy something that has absolutely nothing to do with the person you are and act like you should be excited about it."

Speaking of which, Justin just called me and was acting like a jerk about my birthday. I am not pleased. Excuse me for wanting things to be special when last birthday sucked.

On a positive note I started reading this book called The Broke Diaries that is by Angela Nissel. It is based on her online journal and is totally funny. I am still reading Makes me Wanna Holler or is it Holler if you Hear Me? I keep getting the two mixed up.

previous - next