current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-02 - 5:38 p.m.

I had the oddest thing happen to me today. I got a notice third period that I would be getting a new student today and the note sounded rather ominous (sp?) as it said that they would get me the IEP (Individualized Education Plan) asap and that this student has an anger pass that he can use if he gets upset. He would be in my seventh period class which made me nervous considering I already have some high energy/low-tempered boys in there. Seventh period rolled around and this kid walks in, "I KNOW YOU!" I said excitedly. "I know you too! How do I know you?" he asked me. As it turns out, I had him for awhile when I was student teaching back near Portland. He was in the special ed. class but was allowed to come to my class for short periods of time because they were trying to mainstream him. He was doing really well and then he moved. At the time he was living in a group home and from what I heard he had been severely abused (I think sexually?) and had anger issues. But he alwasy did fine for me. He said that he is originally from here and as it turns out he is the brother of one of my students form last year. I just thought that was the WEIRDEST coincidence considering the fact that I live now in a town of 3,000 people. Anyway, he remembered who I was and I think we will get along fine. It is so weird to think that he is now 15.

Anyway, I spent too much time on the computer last night so I am getting off now. I also have journals to grade and I brought some home. Oh how joyful. I actually love reading them, I just don't like writing comments. I am not sure when I will learn how to write good comments. They certainly don't come easily for me.

previous - next