current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-03 - 6:43 p.m.

I added a little link button down below with a lot of the weblogs I read often. It might be fun to do a little explanation about why I like each one, but I am way too lazy for that.

I had an okay day, not stellar. I have been way stressed out over this whole 8-4:00 thing and now I quit doing it and yesterday and today stayed until past 5:00. I am so behind and I don't feel I will ever get caught up. It is all because of the journals now but also old work that has been piling up. I still haven't figured out what I am doing on Friday. Well, I guess I know with the seniors, I just haven't planned it out. But I really don't know with the sophomores. Apparently all of the sophomores love Mr. A and he is their favorite teacher. I have been usurped as the cool new young teacher by one of the new guys! Apparently he is "one of them" and "knows what it is like to be a teenager." These, of course, are direct quotes from their journals. On the one hand I feel a twinge of jealousness and envy. On the other hand, I feel like perhaps one might have classroom management problems (as Mr. A has mentioned having) if one is the best friend of the students--that would send a red flag up for me. I mean, I had some problems when I was the new cool teacher. I feel much more in control this year. But yes, I am jealous. Anyway, some of my kiss-ass students did mention me as a favorite teacher in their journals, too.

I got pissed off at my seventh period again today and had a talk with one of my kids in the hall. I was all, "I don't know WHAT is going on with you today but I do not appreciate how you are acting!" He was smiling as if it was funny and I was not pleased one bit. I am nervous about that class getting out of hand or something. Last year my seventh period was at times out of hand and so I had to do this whole participation points madness. It actually worked but it was such a pain and I want to avoid it at all costs. Having a bad seventh period class is no fun because by the end of the day you are not exactly tolerant of b.s. and when the last class of the day goes badly you feel like the whole day went bad...I just felt like crying at the end of the day. The kids in there don't like reading workshop and so I felt like some sort of a police woman of books. I am not used to the kids feeling as if reading workshop is a chore because last year my kids grew to love it quickly and these guys are still getting used to it. I don't know. Hopefully they will come to love it. There are only about four kids I am talking about, but those four are quite vocal in their distaste. It is all about finding the right book and that will get easier as I know them better. I want to order a Tony Hawk autobiography. Last year it was rap, this year it seems to be skaters. At least with the sophomore boys. That song by Afroman is popular with them and they think they are sooooooooooo cool because they are listening to "Because I Got High" on their cd players and think I have no clue about this bad song they are listening to. Oooooooooh, a song about getting high? No way. I am so shocked and flabbergasted! Sometimes kids are so funny. Believe it or not, when I was in high school I listened to songs like "Hits from the Bong." Blah.

Anyway, like I was saying, this was not the best day. The seniors are still watching A Knight's Tale (let's have a prayer for Ms. Boombastic that it lasts the rest of the period tomorrow) and today was reading day with the sophomores. Oh. If I am going to do a daily "good thing" that happened to me I should mention that THREE girls are reading a book I recommended the second week of school. One borrowed it out from me and the other two checked it out from the LIBRARY! Who is the bomb? Ms. Boombastic is the bomb!

I got my first b-day present, from Jasmine. I feel guilty. One of the things she got me was The Killing of Tupac Shakur a book I wanted for my kiddies. It was on my amazon.com wishlist. If I haven't mentioned it, I have a list of over 100 items because I am a greedy person like that. I have labeled specifically which ones are for me and which ones are for the kids. Guess who has more items? Me!

previous - next