current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-05 - 5:42 p.m.

I am pissed off right now and just feel awful. Guess why? Yes, seventh period. The new kid and probably my most difficult student in there almost got in a fight. They were standing up and swearing at each other and getting closer. I just said, "YOU NEED TO STOP IT RIGHT NOW." Finally they sat down and stopped. I talked to them in the hall afterwards and sent one of them to the office and the other soon after. I couldn't believe it. Not only that but the call button in my room doesn't work (my only communication with the office). I tried to call up to the office to make sure that the first kid actually went there. I guess NONE of them work right now. I told the principal and he wasn't even aware of it, just the secretaries and such know. He was outraged, probably also because of the Sept. 11th tragedy, and said he would find out and get that fixed right away because it is ridiculous that I have no way of instantly communicating with the office. It pissed me off. I also got pissed at the rest of the class because they took forever to get quiet, they then took forever to be quiet when I was telling them they now had to read the last part of the play on their own, etc. I am getting the one kid out of there into a different period because that is just not working out. Anyway, I called their parents and the one kid's parents weren't home but the other was and she said there would be consequences. This was my first real almost fight in my class and it definitely shook me up. I was all set to stay after and get stuff done and then go to the football game against our rivals but I don't feel like being there. I am going to Justin's house instead.

One nice thing was that the Sunshine Comm. gave me balloons and candy in my box for my b-day so everyone was telling me happy b-day today.

I was sad because my digital camera didn't come yet.

The good news though is that last night at 1:30 AM they finally settled the contract!!!!! WOOO HOOO! I have no idea what we got but it must have been good enough that we settled and now we don't have to go on strike. I feel sorry for the teachers on the bargaining team who had to stay up that late and then come to school today.

Well tomorrow is my birthday so I have to get this almost fight out of my head. I just did not like how the one child (not the new kid) was acting when I was talking to them in the hall. He was totally rude to me about it, which is why I sent him down first. The other kid even said, "Show some respect!" and that almost started a fight again which was why I sent him down. His phone was disconnected because they just moved so I was sad about that. I just in general wanted to talk about how rude he has been to me and all.

I am so glad that next day is only three days with kids. I am burnt out.

previous - next