current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-09 - 10:17 p.m.

I had a great birthday. Apparently that was the catch phrase of the night because I kept saying that, "I'm having a great birthday!" Hmmm...but Justin really did a great job at making everything perfect for me.

We ended up getting up and going to a movie of my choice: Serendipity. I was really torn between that, Glitter and Rockstar. I kind of regret not seeing Glitter because I know that was my only chance. The movie was cute and I like both actors. It could have been better but it was funny. After awhile of hanging out doing nothing, we ended up going out to dinner at a Mexican place. I don't think I have ever ordered a drink at a Mexican restaurant before, but I highly recommend it. They are good, big, and strong. That sounds kind of funny, I know.

So after dinner we ended up opening presents for me. Justin got me some cool things. He got me a Hello Kitty lamp, a Hello Kitty steering wheel cover, a coat rack (I know it sounds weird but he knew I needed one), and the new Mary J. Blige CD. He also got me a POWERPUFF GIRLS birthday cake and chocolate peanut butter ice cream. It was so cute! I love Powerpuff Girls, as any normal person would, so that was perfect (I don't think they make Hello Kitty cakes). Well, after all that, Justin's friend (and mine) Mark came down to visit. Plus Lucia came over because her baby was at her mother-in-law's house. We ended up going out to this bar which was really fun. It had pool tables and electronic darts. I beat Lucia at darts and felt good about that since I am never, ever, good at anything like that. It was weird having Mark and Lucia meet for the first time because it was that whole different-worlds-collide experience. They seemed to get along quite well because they are both people who consider themselves funny so they were playing off each other all night. Since Lucia's birthday was last week we felt the need to buy many shots. I am not a shot drinking person. The most memorable shot was the one that Mark bought me called a (cover your eyes) Blowjob. Apparently you are supposed to take this shot with no hands. I have no idea what was in it, but it had a big pile of whipped cream on the top and you are supposed to take the entire shot in your mouth to take it. I could not seem to open my mouth far enough to get the stupid thing in my mouth (this is after drinking most of the night). It was embarrassing and further embarrassing when my teeth kept clinking against the shot glass as I tried to open my mouth wide enough and I said, "My teeth keep getting in the way!" The bartenders were all, "NO, NO TEETH!" and everyone was cracking up. There was even a crowd gathered around me at this point and the bartenders took a polaroid picture of me for the Wall of Shame. Finally, somehow I managed to take the shot and for that I won a shell necklace and a beer cup. I was quite pleased with that. Mark seemed to feel I did not win them, but they were given to me because it was my birthday. In any case, I felt it was a very lucky night.

Unfortunately when we got back to Justin's after taking Lucia home Mark (who is a big peer pressure guy) encouraged me to drink even more than I had already drank. I think this may have been the most I have ever drank in my entire life. I seemed to feel that since it was my birthday I should outdrink everyone. Mark, I think, is a borderline alcoholic, so loves to have people drinking with him. Anyway, I ended up throwing up later that night, and then the next day as well. I actually had a hangover the next day, too, which I never have. I did enjoy some of the conversations we had, however. I just found out that Jasmine's boyfriend finally asked her to marry him. So I apparently started going on and on about how everyone I know (Lucia and Jasmine) is getting married. Lucia just had a baby, so she has some leftover baby-weight-gain, while Jasmine has gained a little weight for whatever reason. So for some reason I equated weight gain with marriage proposals. I said that all of my friends have put on a little weight and are getting marriage proposals, and here I have put on a little weight, where is my proposal? Mark found this very amusing, and we had an in depth discussion about whether or not after six and a half years Justin and I should get married. Hmmm...I don't even know where that came from because I am not ready for marriage, but I guess I was just feeling a little jealous.

Okay, enough with the drunk stories. I have been pretty stressed out the last few days because it is toward the end of the quarter and I had all these papers piled up due to the strike thingie. I ended up getting very little sleep on Sunday night or Monday night and have been feeling sick. This morning, on about three hours of sleep, I decided I would be calling in sick. So I did. I slept all day and graded my last few papers, and overall had a nice time. I felt guilty because I was supposed to give the sophomores grade printouts today. I already gave the seniors grade printouts yesterday, but the sophomores were supposed to be today. They will get them tomorrow though, and I guess that's going to have to be good enough. I just didn't think I could make it through the day today. There is nothing worse than teaching when you're feeling sick.

By the way, the seventh period class was angellic on Monday. Some of them weren't there so that might be part of it, but I would like to think that them having to work silently on their own had something to do with it. We'll see if it keeps up. Tomorrow is reading day so hmmm. I talked to the kid's mother and she said she would have a big talk with him. We'll see. He was really good yesterday, I think because the counsellor told him that he would have to change into another class of mine and apparently no one else wants him in their seventh period either. Another teacher thinks he might get put into alt. ed. because of all the fighting and almost fighting that has been going on. I don't know.

Oh, I got my digital camera in the mail today. Also, my best friend sent me what I wanted for my b-day: The Fox and the Hound on DVD. That is my absolute favorite Disney movie, it is so cute. I haven't done too much with my digital camera but I think it is a good one. I don't have any friends around here to take pictures of.

Thanks to W.T. for the birthday card! It was really sweet!

previous - next