current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-10 - 10:03 p.m.

Okay, I have no shame. I watched Dawson's Creek tonight because Rory's nemesis, Tristan, was on it (Gilmore Girls). I also was so thrilled to see Busy Phillips, the girl who played Kim on Freaks and Geeks is now on that show! I really like her.

I think I am really getting that one kid transferred into another period because yesterday he was really bad for the sub and his mom wanted me to give him a chance to improve before switching his schedule. I read her the sub note but then she was getting all hostile about it and thought everyone was pointing fingers at him and not at the other kids (he has already been suspended for fighting this year). I explained that it was not as if I am kicking him out of class, I like him very much and want him in class, but that the combo. of kids in that class were not working out very well for him so I wanted to try a different period. She was still all pissy about it, but I guess some people live in denial about their kids. I feel almost like videotaping the classroom and showing her a copy. Ha ha that would be funny.

My sub yesterday was this crazy woman that all the kids hate. I left her an explicit message but somehow she did not hear it or did not understand it because she had all the kids do what they were doing the day before. That, of course, led to mass confusion and uprising among the students, "But we did that yesterday!" they told her.

"No you didn't, Shut up, I've had a bad day and am taking it out on you!" This according to my angels. Anyway, it was disheartening on all levels--nothing got done because of her error, and the kids were also bad which makes me look bad. It is nice, however, to hear the kids say, "YAY! Ms. Boombastic is back!" You think they don't appreciate you but then they have the sub from hell that doesn't let anyone go to the bathroom and suddenly they love you. :)

Seventh period got the worst note ever. She said they were very difficult and instead of listing ones that gave her problems she just made a short list of "The only ones that DIDN'T give me problems." I talked to all of my classes about how even if we are frustrated at the sub, and even if she is not as polite to us as one might hope, we must still behave appropriately. This is true. At the same time, even the really good kids have told me that this woman yells at them for no reason, and that she tells them to shut up. Shut up just is not acceptable to me, and I guess I would give this woman a hard time as well. This is a woman that last year felt it was not a big deal for my third period boys to draw colored chalk outlines of their bodies on the carpet in my room. Later on she changed her mind and made another period help her clean up. I really believe she is a little bit looney. I wish that I had the option of saying not to pick certain subs, but we only have the option to request certain subs. Often those subs are already taken.

We voted to ratify the new tenative contract tonight! I wasn't going to go and then I heard there was this big uprising against it and that it wasn't a done deal. Some people don't think the new contract is good enough, even though the bargaining team decided it was good enough. So anyway, I decided to go because at this point if we vote against it we are for sure going to strike on Monday. Luckily the majority voted for passing it, including me. We got most of what we wanted, I felt, and I don't want to strike.

I got a lovely prank phone call tonight, my first one. I think it is one of my sophomore boys and I think I know which one. He pretended to have a Spanish accent and said he was Pablo from school. I was all, "WHHHHHAAAAT?" He proceeded to say something along the lines of, "Do you want to have sexual intercourso?" and then hung up. I actually thought it was quite amusing and I resisted the temptation to call back the number on the caller ID. Any professional prank caller should know to do the thing to make it so their number doesn't show up on caller ID. Sheesh...

I was actually sort of disappointed with the Gilmore Girls yesterday. It wasn't that good. I like Dean and all but I missed Tristan. I also couldn't seem to get over the fact that it was still supposed to be summer and here we are in October. Felicity was pretty good today though. I am totally torn over the whole Noel/Ben thing. If we were going by names alone, I would definitely vote for Ben. I like the name Ben, but the name Noel sounds really dumb. However, as far as looks go I first liked Noel, then I liked Ben, now I like Noel again. As far as personality I am definitely liking Noel lately but when he had that whole weird hacker obsession with Tyra Banks I was feeling a bit scared by him. I think Ben can be super sweet but this episode he was being a major pain.

I seriously burned two of my fingers on hot and sour soup the other day. They are like scarred red and I am hoping that it isn't permanent.

previous - next