current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-23 - 4:27 p.m.

I made myself dinner tonight instead of eating out like every other night of my life. I had something I found completely heavenly: wheat thins and laughing cow cheese wedges. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I did actually buy some salad stuff for tomorrow. Two days in a row of making dinner might just be a record.

I called up and found out that I have to go pick up a packet to file a small claim. I am on my way! I am pleased with myself for finally figuring out where I have to go and what I have to do. I can do it for up to $5000.00. I will, of course, not have that much to sue for, but some people seemed to think it was $500.00 limit. I guess they are wrong.

Another thing that I have realized I love is hot chocolate with marshmallows. I love the way marshmallows is spelled. Anyway, it is the best. The most I seem to be able to get into the cup is four marshmallows. Speaking of which, I love that book Lafcadio by Shel Silverstein. That is one of the best books.

I am finally almost finished with my book Makes Me Wanna Holler. I would definitely recommend it. It is one of the better books I have read lately. I haven't really had a chance to read much lately, and I am realizing that part of the problem is that my magazine subscriptions have gotten a little out of control. I seriously get one or more magazines every day. I think I need to cancel some of them.

I am excited about Gilmore Girls being on tonight. I forgot to mention last week that I couldn't believe that Felicity and Noel slept together! I just thought a kiss or two might be realistic, but that Felicity is too guilt-ridden of a person to actually sleep with Noel. I was surprised but excited by this latest development. I was saddened by what's-his-name and Alaina not getting married. I found it difficult to believe that Alaina would be like, "Oh, okay, go ahead and get married instead of me and my man." I would not be that big of a person, personally. I realize that the guy was leaving the show for his other new show, but you would think that they wouldn't do it that way.

I had an okay day at school. We had this assembly that wiped out second and third period. It was TWO HOURS LONG! It was this motivational speaker guy who talks about sex and love and all of this stuff. It was actually pretty good and the kids were TOTALLY into it. I only was required to stay for the first half of the assembly but ended up staying for the rest because I was interested. He hooked them in in the first part by talking about differences between guys and girls and then ended it all by giving them reasons to wait for sex. Even though some of the kids are not into that idea at all, they were definitely open to it because he was such a cool guy. I am glad we did it. Now I just have to figure out how to be that good of a speaker so my classes are captivated by my every word too. ;)

I got pissed off at my second period today (I only had them for ten minutes too!) If it isn't one thing it's another. Sophomores are a bit difficult.

I can tell I am growing on my secret favorite student and the angry-young-man student in that same class. Usually when I say "BYE, YOU GUYS!" at the end of the period the kids don't say anything. Maybe one or two will say something. Today I didn't say anything when the bell rang because I was talking to someone and the favorite student said, "See you later, Ms. Boombastic!" I also had good interactions with the other student all period long. I love it when seventh period ends well instead of badly. High school students are funny. I usually say hello to every single student and smile as they walk in the door and so many of them don't say anything back. They don't even realize half the time because they are in some sort of self-centered daze. It cracks me up. For that reason it always touches me when they tell me to have a good weekend or things like that.

Well, tomorrow is reading day and then it is conferences galore. On Friday we will have a half day because--lucky us--we get to work from 8am to 8pm on Thursday. This is so there will be evening conferences for those that can't make it during the day. I like the half day and all but I think 8am-8pm is a bit of a long day and would personally prefer if we come in at 1pm on that day so we could sleep in. Oh well.

previous - next