current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-24 - 4:49 p.m.

I had another fairly good day today. It was Ms. Boombastic's Reading Day, so of course I had a good day. I did Makes Me Wanna Holler as my book talk since I finished it last night. The kids found it highly amusing because I read the opening scene in the book where Nathan and his friends beat up this other kid. There were some "bad words" in it so I told them, "You know, this scene is pretty violent and uses some profanity. Although I have no problem with you reading books with profanity, I know it would be too shocking for you to hear such words come out of my mouth I am going to censor those words." The kids all wanted me to read those words and campaigned for me to read them. I persisted, though, and said "MF" instead of "motherfucker" and they cracked up. Last year we read a piece of literature with words in that and we read them and it was no big deal (in context) but I just felt weird about picking a passage for my booktalk and using the bad words. Hmmmm. I did actually use the word "ass" in the passage though, and that was enough to shock them, especially the sophomores. Anyway, many sophomore boys were very intrigued by the book after my excerpt. :) I am not worried about getting in trouble over it because the rule is that if a parent has a problem with a book they are reading they can request an alternate assignment. Having a book there as an option on the shelf that they don't have to read you just tell the parent that their particular kid won't read that one. And the book is actually a great book, so I don't feel guilty.

I ended up taking pictures of some of the kiddies today. I have tons of pictures from last year--I always take class pictures and then sometimes take pictures of them while they are working on stuff. I also love taking pictures of couples. I also had some pictures of us at the wedding and some pictures of my old house and how the railing was kicked out so I got it all developed at one-hour photo. I also picked up the forms to file the small claims suit. I have to figure out exactly how much I am going to ask for.

Today was the kids' Friday so it was rather energy-full, but they were pretty good. I did have to send two boys to work in other rooms because they just couldn't be quiet. Sometimes they get like that and I'm not mad I'm just tired of bugging them and getting distracted. Neither seemed too upset about it. I also had a better day with second period, although there was some major drama between some of the girls because of something that happened the period before. Sophomore girls are insane. Sophomores are insane period. But in a good way.

previous - next