current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-26 - 2:36 p.m.

I'm too picky and critical. I want to read some new weblogs but it takes me too long to find one I like.

I had a half-day today and already it is almost three so almost over. I didn't do much but I did go and send my mom her birthday package and I also filed all the papers for the small claims court. I had to pay $42.00 for the filing and $25.00 for the sheriff to serve it to him. I just hope that I am not doing this for nothing and that somehow I will get my money back. If the judgement is for me he owes me that money too but I don't know what will happen. I do think that I will win. If he doesn't pay the money I guess it is up to me to try to collect it though, so that sucks. I don't know. I guess I will just wait and see.

I had a few more parent conferences and actually had some of the kids who are on IEP's parents come in. I was quite pleased that one of my student's moms came in because she was all, "I know you are making the accomodations for him because he had you last year and you are so good about that." I felt good about that. Also I was able to tell her how I got the principal to agree to let me give him a letter grade for aiding for me rather than a P/NP. She was happy. All of the parents were super nice this time, which I was thankful for. It is really pathetic how few come to conferences especially the way we do it, which is that you get to come up and talk to the teacher for as long as you want. When I was in high school my mom didn't like it because they did it where you go to each of your kid's classes for like fifteen minutes and the teacher gives a little presentation and you never get to talk to the teacher one on one.

I wrote my first letter of recommendation today. It is for this great kid who is in my class. His dad is seriously 75 years old and his mom left the family so he ended up dropping out for awhile to work full time to try to keep the family home. Now he and his family have to live in a small apartment. I may have mentioned him before. I was pretty pleased with how my letter came out. It was nice because I have no reservations whatsoever about this kid so I didn't feel like I was lying at any point. :) It was over a page, which surprised me. Luckily I just had them do these resumes to give to people when asking for recommendations and so his helped me out with what to say.

I hope other kids ask me for letters as well.

Alright, I am off to watch Days of Our Lives. It airs at three here so I never usually get to watch.

previous - next