current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-29 - 6:42 p.m.

I had an absolutely awful time with seventh period today. The kids just wouldn't be quiet long enough for me to even give instructions. I stopped and waited...and waited...and waited. I was so angry. I told them they would have a seating chart tomorrow and also that if they wanted we could do worksheets all the time because it is certainly less work for me. I also said I couldn't believe how rude they were being. I did everything but yell. I also wrote four detentions and called six parents. The parents were supportive and hopefully that will do some good. I think I may be writing some detentions and referrals tomorrow. I just felt utterly hopeless. It's one thing if a few kids are bad, but this was literally half the class would not shut up. The other ones looked at me with the glossy eyed stares of "I feel sorry for you but I'm just going to sit here and be quiet." Ugh. Usually they shush each other but maybe they felt it wouldn't do any good. I don't know if I have ever been so angry at a class. I mean I've been mad but this was out of control. I don't want to yell because I think that shows even less control over myself. We'll see what happens tomorrow. I made a huge stack of worksheets that they can work on if they can't work silently on their papers. All the other classes but seventh period got well into writing their papers; seventh didn't even get the first part done because they wouldn't listen for instructions. Sigh.

Other than that I actually had a pretty good day. It just feels like I didn't because of seventh.

One of the kids saw me and Justin coming out of the store here in town with a case of beer. That was embarrassing. He told me today he was going to tell the principal on me. I was all, "How old am I? Oh yeah, 24!" I actually ran into FIVE of my students at that store while buying beer. I have to remember to shop at the store not in town from now on if I am going to buy something like that. At least it wasn't something like condoms or tampons--that would be awful.

I feel like I am falling apart. Thank goodness it is just four more days this week and then next week I only have to be at school for two days due to my curriculum adoption meetings. That will be a nice break. Teaching is HARD.

I am surprised I haven't gotten sick yet really. Maybe all my immunities are built up.

I bought that new Diet Coke with lemon. Not bad. It's an exciting breakthrough, I think. I get so tired of having so few options as a diet drinker. HA HA.

My weekend was decent. We rented Dr. Dolittle 2 and Swingers. I haven't seen the first one, and neither has Justin, but he wanted to rent it anyway. It was okay. Swingers is awesome, but I had already seen it. Justin actually liked it too, which was unusual. He is more of a action type guy--he's not much into smaller budget movies.

I was disappointed that they already had a rerun on The Practice last night. What's up with that? The season just started. I decided I don't really like Alias that much. I sort of half watch it every episode but never really get that into it. So maybe I won't watch it anymore. I am really excited that they are almost to the second season of The Sopranos now. I can't wait to see what I missed out on. Maybe now my HBO will be worth it. I can't believe I pay as much as I do for cable when I barely ever watch any of the movies on those channels. They are really lame, usually. I do love that Game Show network though. I can watch that nonstop except for The Newlywed Show. I absolutely hate that one. I hate how they say whoopee. It really embarrasses me.

I went shopping and got some of that caramel apple stuff and bought apples. That was good. My dinner was that and cheese bread. At least I didn't eat out right?

I'm going to go and get ready for the season premiere of Boston Public so I can feel a little bit better about my situation and students. They have awful and mean students that do bad things like kill other people.

previous - next