current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-10-31 - 5:02 p.m.

I am having this fear that some of my sophomores that are mad at me will come and egg my house. I just know if that happens I will cry. It's not even so much the fact of egging my house as the fact that if it happens then everyone in school instantly will know and ten million people will ask about it. Just cross your fingers that they don't hate me that much. I hate sophomores.

I actually had a pretty good day today. I gave out candy and apparently was one of the only teachers who did so I was on everyone's good side again. I am hoping that will thrwart any would-be-egg-throwers, but I somehow think anyone mean enough to throw eggs would see through my candy ploy. That wasn't actually why, but you know. Oh, also, one of my sweet sophomore girls made cupcakes and told me she might be late to class because she was going home to get them. She came to my room later on in the day especially to give me one. I thought that was the sweetest thing. It was made to look scary--it was covered with brown-dirt-like cocoa and had a gummy worm on it.

So far I haven't got any trick or treaters but it hasn't gotten completely dark yet. I am a little nervous about it. I have lived in apartments where kids don't really come trick or treating for so long that I am out of the practice of opening my door and talking to little kids. I don't know if that makes me a freak or not, but it does sound a little weird.

It was a pretty mellow day. I got a book for my pregnant student What to Expect When You're Expecting, because she said she hadn't been reading anything about being pregnant. Hopefully she will find it useful; I just couldn't believe she wasn't reading anything about it yet. I would be going crazy wondering what to expect, especially about labor. She seemed to enjoy it.

Gilmore Girls was pretty good last night. I was intrigued by the new guy. I miss my other boyfriend, Tristan, but I can always see him on DC. I am suddenly such an avid Dawson's Creek watcher that I have a hip nickname for the show. HA HA HA! Did anyone happen to catch what book the new guy stole from Rory? I totally couldn't tell what it was and, of course, desperately wanted to know.

Luckily today I didn't snap at any of my students. I think I mentioned that I have been sort of snappy lately and I need to work on that, since usually I am never snappy. I do think that I need to speak up when a student is rude to me though, and not just brush it off. Because, frankly, some of these kids need to learn some serious manners. So I am working on that. I even had a talk with the kid I gave a referral to yesterday and we agreed to move past our disagreement. It was mostly me talking and him listening but he did say he wasn't going to drop the class afterall.

I'm reading this book called Backroads by Tawni O'Dell or something like that. It is really good. I think it might have been an Oprah book, I'm not sure. It is about this guy whose mother murdered his father and he is 20 and supports his three sisters. It is very intriguing.

I am still reading Joe College as well.

I'm off to order books online that I can't afford!

previous - next