current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-11-05 - 9:55 p.m.

Hmmm. I haven't felt much like posting lately. I thought I was going to try that whole "Write a 50,000 word novel in a month" thing, but I missed the deadline. Then I thought I might try it on my own and realized that I can't write a novel. I maybe should start with a short story but I don't think I can get it all in there. I guess the thing that stops me with the writing thing is the passing of time. I haven't figured out how to do it. I try to pay attention while I am reading a novel to how the author deals with it (I notice that sometimes a whole week has passed in the book), but then I get caught up in the story and forget. Transistions are killing my novel.

I am also having trouble with using the present tense. I want to write it as if it is happening, not as looking back on what happened. It is hard. I have forty eight pages of a teaching journal from last year (single spaced!) so I was thinking I could try to go back through that and sort of do something with it. Rewrite it as a novel or something. But I don't know how much of it is just a big whine session.

I found out that they are only paying for a half day of a sub on Wednesday, and will let us go in time to get back to our classrooms. That made me sad and angry. I signed on the sub for three full days. Now I have to call the school secretary tomorrow and have her fix everything. I feel bad. I hope the sub isn't mad at me. I went by work after the committee meeting stuff and saw the sub note and it looked like my fourth period seniors were bad. I was surprised that the sophomores were good. What is it with the sophomores, I can't figure it out. I love/hate them and have to do something soon. I just feel like I am treading water and haven't taught them much (except how to punctuate dialogue, they seem to finally be getting that).

He did kick out the same kid I gave a referral to last week.

The committee meeting was boring but I do feel that it is useful overall. We are developing a curriculum guide (here I thought we were getting together our textbook adoption stuff, but apparently that it later on) since our district has no curriculum guide and everyone just does whatever they want in their classes. I thought a lot of the issues were addressed that concern me and other teachers. I still have some issues but I feel like at least the instructor on how to create curriculum guides recognizes our concerns. Hopefully something useful and good will come from it. I could use a curriculum guide right around now. I just can't wait to get to the textbook part. The idea of a brand new textbook makes me happy.

The good thing about the committee thing is that I get to hang out with this other teacher from another school that is fun. She is totally sarcastic and I love it. We talk smack about other people too. She is probably about 35 or 40 but she acts like me. The last time I saw her was last year at this other meeting thing, so it was cool seeing her again.

I don't have any funny stories about my students today and won't until Wednesday. I am so mad I have to go back to school just to teach fifth and seventh period. LAME. I thought about taking a half day personal day but who wants to waste it. I am saving those up in case I ever get an interview for another school or something.

I have no idea what I'm doing on Thursday. Go me.

previous - next