current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-11-03 - 3:51 p.m.

Yesterday at the end of the day there were a big clump of teachers standing near the staff mailboxes. They were all complaining about the nightmare that is seventh period classes. They asked me how my seventh period was and I was able to say, "Actually not that bad!" I felt a lot better about everything when that happened.

I just had a debate with myself over whether it would be "there was a big clump of teachers" or "there were a big clump of teachers." Some English teacher, huh? Please feel free to tell me the correct answer. I am having some sort of a mental block.

I will not see the kids until Thursday! I have that committee thing next week on Monday-Wednesday, then I see them on Thursday, then they have Friday off and we all have Monday off. I feel really happy. Usually I appreciate them more when I come back from boring meetings and I am hoping that will be the case. Right about now they are on my last nerve.

I didn't get a single trick-or-treater on Halloween. Apparently there is some sort of Halloween code that I had no idea about. You are supposed to leave your porch light on if you want them to come to your house. I thought that having all of the lights in your house on was enough of a signal that you were home and wanted visitors. I thought that if you didn't want trick-or-treaters you were supposed to turn off the lights and sit in the dark. I guess I was wrong. Oh well, more candy for me.

Justin was over here because he needed to use my digital camera for a project. I got the brilliant idea to go take pictures of cars at the dealership and he was excited by my genius. He is doing some sort of postcard series about the journey of a car salesman. Anyway, we got some good pictures. I took some pictures of my Hello Kitty stuff but I can't remember much about ftp and all that anymore. Oh well. We had a great time together in general, and that is always nice. It was so nice sleeping in today. We went to bed around eleven and didn't get up until ten.

One thing I've noticed about him is he is stealing all of my phrases! I have taken a few phrases from him, I will admit, but lately it seems he's even using the ones that he makes fun of me for. He then tries to claim that they were his phrases and I stole them from him! It is unbelievable. The funniest is the talking for inanimate objects. Like if I see a cute stuffed animal at the store I will say something like, "It's all, 'I'm a cute little rabbit!'" in a rabbit-like voice. Now, that may be annoying when I say it, but imagine Justin doing that. It cracks me up.

I forgot to mention that yesterday on my way to work I had to stop my car to avoid hitting a family of five deer. There were some little baby deer with two mommies (I think). They were the cutest. That is one thing on the plus side of living out here, right? I never would randomly see deer like that in Portland.

previous - next