current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-11-27 - 9:00 p.m.

I go through stages in music. I will listen to the same CD or CDs days in a row. For the last few days I have been listening to: Joan Osborne's Relish, and Bob Dylan's CD with "To Make You Feel My Love." I think that's my favorite Bob Dylan CD. I love love love the Relish CD too. I ordered it for Lucia a long time ago, at her request, and then forgot to give it to her for so long that she got another one. She said I could have this one. Anyway, it is pretty good. It has that song "What If God Were One of Us" and the song about being naked. I like it.

I'm still sick and still whiney. I'm telling you, being sick is no fun without anyone around to take care of you.

I was thinking about my biggest pet peeves, and one of them is sexist commercials. I know that as a whole the U.S. is still a pretty sexist place, but if you look at TV commericials we are still in the 1950s. I hate those commercials about Mom being SO concerned about everyone getting a healthy dinner. This one was for these new dinner rolls and apparently Mom had to feed her family at different times because Dad comes home late from work, daughter has a job and the twins have soccer practice. So these new dinner rolls are so convenient because she can pull out one or twenty--however many she needs to make to accomodate her family's schedule. UGH!

The other one I hate is the pledge commercial where "Mom's furniture" is not kept nice by the rest of the family, so this spray is so helpful so she can clean up after her not-so-neat kiddies. I just hate the wording: "Mom's furniture" because "Mom" cleans it, right? Mom is always so concerned in commercials about what she is going to cook for dinner and how she can keep her family's socks clean. What about Dad? Apparently Dad is too busy at his "hectic office job" to be concerned about anyone's socks, let alone his own. And the Moms in the commercials always seem to be shaking their heads with a smile about their families, like, "Oh, aren't they cute, these kids and husband who make me do everything." Please.

I've been thinking I really want to travel to England sometime. I probably won't have enough money saved up to go this summer but maybe I could try to aim for next summer. I've never really gone anywhere or traveled much and I would really like to be able to go to England and see all of the literary landmarks. The problem is that I don't know who I would go with. The closest person that would be interested in that stuff too would be Cassandra because she likes Jane Austen novels and such. I don't know. I really need to go somewhere while I still have the chance and don't have any attachments or obligations.

I am going to move to California if Justin and I ever break up. Please hold me to that. I hate the weather here. I think he hates it too, but he doesn't want to move there. I was thinking somewhere like Sacramento where it wouldn't be too expensive as far as rent goes.

I feel incredibly guilty about staying home sick, and I am most likely staying home tomorrow as well. I always feel like I should get up and face things, but teaching when sick is hellish. I am just glad they aren't doing anything TOO important right now so if they aren't doing it it will be okay. I was thinking that teaching is the perfect job to feed someone's ego because it really does matter if you are there or not. It makes you feel somewhat important to know things aren't going to go as well if you aren't there. I don't know if I realized that before I started.

I've been spending too much time on here lately. I am sad to see that no one has filled out my Slambook but me(see to the left of this entry). Please do it! It is fun.

Oh, I forgot to mention I am pissed off about Gilmore Girls. I am sure you know the reason--they shipped my beloved Tristan off to military school. I also missed whatever episode it was where the two of them kissed so I was sad they didn't even get a Romeo and Juliet kiss. I am so sad to see him go and I hope it is temporary (but it didn't look like it). It still cracks me up his name is Chad Michael in real life. Other than that I thought this was one of the better episodes of the season.

I am going to go email Lucia because she works nights and I work days so we can't seem to get ahold of each other anymore.

previous - next