current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-12-05 - 6:52 p.m.

I'm really excited because yesterday the kids in first period came up with the idea that we should make a class book of poetry. I thought that was a cool idea and checked with my principal and he said it would be fine to use the copies for that. I think it is just really cool that they came up with it.

Reading day went well as usual. I also feel particularly productive because I know what I am doing tomorrow and Friday and I graded everything but one set of papers for the sophomores. I stayed at school until almost seven. I know I just entered grades for last six weeks so I should have zero work, but I cut that off last Wednesday so I actually have plenty of work. Boo.

I'm listening to Ms. Spears. I am starting to feel this is her best CD. With lines like, "Bombastic love, so fantastic, I'm completely yours and you are mine. And it's going to be exactly like the movies when we fall in love for the first time..." I don't think you can argue with me on that one. :) I think I've added one of these songs on my "Songs at my wedding" list. Justin already okayed "Selfish" by N'Sync but I don't know. His brother is this big Britney fan. He even bought her first CD and I let them burn the latest and we came home to discover Jason sitting on the couch listening to it. Ha ha.

Seventh period is growing on me lately. Maybe it's because there haven't been any complaints but we have been getting along well. I laugh and joke around with them more than any other group of sophomores. And it is nice to seem them actually seem to enjoy something (poetry). I keep kicking myself for not trying a poetry unit sooner--I was just scared last year. Plus one of my students who doesn't do anything is going to be taken out of that class. He hasn't been there for the past two days and it is a bit easier. It's not like he is distracting the whole class but he is always up and around and it is like one of those pop-up things where you hit it on the head with the hammer and then it comes up in another spot. He's always popping up again.

I am going to visit my cousin in Eugene this weekend and Justin just happened to decide HE will visit his friend Mark this weekend. I feel like he is trying to spy on me or something. Eugune is a small town and I wouldn't be surprised if we do end up at the same bar or club. Oh well. It's just one of those weird I-don't-want-my-worlds-to-collide things. I don't want Mark and Justin to be hanging out with my cousin. Just too weird.

I have to get another copy of the first Harry Potter book because it is gone. I also think I need another Tupac poetry book because it is so popular with everyone and everyone wants to borrow it. Too bad it is twenty dollars and this is already the second one I had to buy. :(

I need a life. I'm off to watch Dawson's Creek now!

previous - next