current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-12-12 - 7:12 p.m.

I ended up staying until almost 7pm at school tonight and still am not done grading the kids' papers. I at least got through the sophomores, but still have three classes of tons of senior work to grade. Where are all of the other teachers? How do they get out of there so quickly? Do they have a system or do they go home and grade all evening? Sometimes I hate teaching. If I could just stay on top of everything!

Tomorrow will be more poetry and more Macbeth. Unfortunately I had an unpleasant second period class. There was not only a confrontation which was not at all instigated by me, and resulted in swearing and the ripping down of a poster, but there was also a confrontation which involved two girls being very rude to me. I was not pleased. That seemed to come out of nowhere, too, and I was not a big fan. I guess everyone is in a pissy mood because they want it to be break. I'm with them. I want it to be break and there are five more school days before that becomes a reality. I just keep thinking, "Two more days, two more days until the weekend!" In any case, I have the rest of the week planned out. It is so much easier doing Macbeth this year because the story is coming back to me quickly. In reality, I probably don't have to read ahead, but I am anyway. I do hate it how hard it is for the kids. I just don't know how to have a positive Shakespeare experience. I do my best but so far they are not having fun. I hate it when they hate it.

I am also really mad because I got in the rare mood to actually cook. I impulsively bought ingredients for fudge, knowing I had a bag of chocolate chips at home. I got the ingredients all out and ready to go and then I realized that the bag of chocolate chips only has two cups, not three like the recipe demands. I had even greased the pan! I was outraged. Who knows when this impulse will ever come along again. Luckily I bought some ice cream as a back up plan so I guess I will be doing my back up.

Dawson's Creek looks lame tonight--it's supposed to be a scary episode, but why? It's not Halloween. I just hope Felicity will be good. I love that show more than ever lately. Although this may be disheartening for two of my readers (okay, my only two readers) I think I even like it better than Gilmore Girls. I was really annoyed at the hints they are giving that Rory will be with that new guy. He is only going to cause her pain! I hate him.

I'm trying to decide whether or not to go to my staff Christmas party. Last year I brought Justin and we actually had fun. I drank wine and felt very mellow and cool. The only drawback was we did that gift exchange and I got a sausage. It was really quite embarrassing having to act as if I liked this sausage. I was all, "It's a...sausage!" I think whoever gave that as a gift thought it was supposed to be a joke gift type thing, but everyone else gave nice things. If I go this year I am not doing the gift exchange. I didn't do Secret Pals at work either, so I am very unfestive.

I think tomorrow I am going to go to the wrestling meet at my school. It's at 6:30 so that will be a motivating factor for me to work after school from 4:00 on. I will at least get a bit of work done. I have a lot of wrestlers and I don't think many people go to their matches. All the other sports around here (including volleyball and girl's basketball) get full stadiums. Well, I guess baseball didn't have that big of a crowd.

This weekend will be my last weekend at home because next Thursday I will be on a plane to Louisiana. I'm excited, but a little nervous.

previous - next