current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2001-12-11 - 6:37 p.m.

I've been busy. I had a very long weekend that was pretty fun but I got zero work done. And I mean zero. I am actually not that behind on grading with the sophomores because poems are short and quick to grade, but I am definitely behind on grading the seniors. I am sick of grading, I just want to be a math teacher.

My weekend was fun but weird. I had a very odd episode of "worlds colliding" that didn't turn out well at all. The whole thing was I was going to my cousin's house. Justin was going to Mark's and his girlfriend, Elizabeth. My cousin (let's call her "Angela")wanted to go out and party since her little boy is with her parents right now and she is a single mom and so never gets to party. Well, we ended up going out for awhile with her friends and we decided we would meet Justin for awhile later on, but first got to hang out alone for awhile. Justin, Elizabeth and Mark came to meet us at a bar. I am always so nervous when people I know from one place meet people I know from another place. Angela has met Justin before but hasn't really had a chance to talk to him or get to know him. Anyway, I pre-warned Angela that Mark makes fun of me non-stop. He has done this since high school and I am used to it, and I think it is his way of teasing/flirting with me. I guess I made a mistake with the pre-warning business, but I have a tendency to do that. Well, Mark wasn't making fun of me that badly, the only two things I remember him making fun of was how excited I was to see Justin, and then later he made fun of me because I kept pointing at everyone. I always point at everyone when I am drinking, apparently. Also everyone was telling their, "Ms. Boombastic was cut off after two beers" stories, but that was Justin and Mark, not just Mark. Angela seemed to be getting along with everyone but suddenly, out of nowhere, she stands up to go to the bathroom. Then she says, still standing there, "No actually, I'm done. I'm going home." She repeats that she is done and says that I can either go with her or have Elizabeth take me home later. We all stare at her in shock.

The way she said it was as if she had just had it up to HERE with all of us and has decided she is getting out of there in a hurry. As if someone has done something to offend her. I know for a fact no one said anything to offend HER so my only thought was that perhaps she was annoyed at Mark for making fun of me. So I said that Elizabeth could take me home later. I didn't really know what to say and I didn't want to leave with Mark, Elizabeth and Justin like ?!?!?

Anyway, Elizabeth, Mark and Justin and I all went to Taco Bell soon after that. After that, of course, the whole conversation revolved around what possibly could have gone wrong. Mark felt I should not have pre-warned about his tendency to make fun of me. Finally, they took me to my cousin's house. She said she was sorry and was not mad at anyone, although was annoyed at how Mark made fun of me and Justin never said anything in my defense. She also said she was feeling left out of it because of the two couples and just felt grouchy and wanted to go home. Anyway, we resolved that and had a good time that night but I just wish she wouldn't have done that. If she was feeling tired and all of that, and really wasn't mad, she could have just said to me, "I'm tired, are you ready to go yet?" The way she did that was very confrontational and rude and made everyone involved feel like crap. I just was not pleased. I told them what she said and everyone felt she was lying and really was mad. Anyway, I guess I was right to worry about my worlds colliding, huh? I am just annoyed because all of us could never hang out again after that because now they think she is a freak.

We ended up seeing Ocean's 11 the next day and I thought it was quite good. It was better than I thought it would be, although it wasn't perfect. I really want to see Monsters Inc but no one wants to see it with me. Then after that Justin called me and asked me if I wanted to go to meet them at Mark and Elizabeth's house. I was just going to go for awhile and then go home but I ended up staying the night. We ended up visiting Elizabeth at her work and also just drinking a lot and staying up very late and cracking up non-stop. My favorite thing ever is hearing stories about how people met, or just random stories they have to tell. Both Mark and Elizabeth love to tell stories, and so I made them tell me again the story of how they met and got together. We also talked about what our favorite signature phrases of each other's are. This always cracks me up and I am always trying to bring them up. When Mark gets annoyed when no one can make a decision, he always says, "Fuck a duck, dude." He doesn't usually say dude, so that is part of the funny part. Also he always starts off a sentence when he is being serious saying, "Honestly, I think blah blah blah..." Elizabeth is funny because she has the most outlandish facial expressions. We also had this long conversation about our favorite words. It was very odd. Anyway, I had a really good time and I am glad I ended up going over there instead of going straight home. I really missed Justin and I didn't even realize it.

Also, I made the coolest mix CD at their house. They have DSL so they have a million MP3's and I made a CD that had all of my favorite songs that I don't want to buy the whole CD of.

The students are so into their poetry book idea. I asked them what they wanted to put on the cover, thinking that someone would want to draw a picture or something like that. They decided that what they want is for me to take a picture of each of the classes and put that as their cover. I thought that was hilarious. It is going to be black and white but it usually copies pretty well if you start out with black and white film so I bought some today. I can't wait until this happens. They are typing their poems on Friday so everyone should be ready to go soon. I think it will be a lot of work putting the book together and copying it, but I think it will be worth it.

Also another good thing is that my principal said there is money in the budget that I could go to the NCTE Conference in Portland! It is the Spring conference and I am so excited. For those people that don't know, NCTE stands for National Council of Teachers of English. It is a three day conference and they have all sorts of cool workshops. They also have an idea exchange where you write down one idea that worked in your classroom, make 150 copies and then go and pick up one copy of everyone else's ideas. I think that will be cool. Also I heard you can get free stuff there. I got a free $20.00 book at the OCTE Conference, so I am hoping there will be more of the same. I asked Helen if I could stay with her and she said yes and is going to see if she can go too. I am just glad I don't have to pay for the conference because it is $125.

Well, I am off to watch Gilmore Girls. Let's just hope it is not a rerun because I missed the boys' first home basketball game of the season because of it. I'm sorry, I enjoy basketball, but honestly I would rather watch Gilmore Girls. Also, I still can't figure out how to record when I have my DVD player, my VCR, and Digital cable. It makes me furious.

Goodnight!

previous - next