current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-01-08 - 9:22 p.m.

I don't have a whole lot to say. Somehow I seem to have managed to make time to play The Sims for two hours. Interesting. I am a total addict to that game now. I just love building them houses and buying them stuff. I tried playing with a few of the characters that came with the game, but somehow I am more interested when I am playing with the ones I named after people. I feel I might be a little demented.

Anyway, I seem to be doing an okay job with my new grading plan. I went over the hour today. The bad thing is that I think I am going to get all caught up and then next week I am collecting the journals and those take forever to grade. Ah well...

I felt good today because I gave out the poetry books to 1st and 2nd periods (yesterday they came in at the end of the period so 7th period already got them). The kids were so into them so I let them read them most of the period. It was so cool seeing them read each other's work with such admiration and pleasure. I need to have things like this happen more often. Plus, the seniors asked me if they could do a poetry book. I said we are doing Macbeth but maybe sometime we can do some. Hmmm. Luckily Macbeth is coming to a (painful) close soon. I actually like it better now after having read it a total of three times, but the kids still aren't into it. They are much better than the kids last year were though--at least they are making an effort to follow along and such. We did it later in the year last year and it was a total disaster. They've been asking me about watching the movie but the only one I can get is not too good. I just want to do the project (which did go well last year) and then the test and be through with it.

I am so glad tomorrow is Wednesday. I've barely been getting any sleep because I have been having insomnia so I am hoping I can fall asleep quickly tonight. I am making some progress in The Corrections although at some points it drags and doesn't make sense.

Oh, I got my Christmas present from Jasmine. I sometimes wonder if she has any clue of my personality or what I like. She always gives me something so generic that you could give anyone. She gave me some soaps and then a set of what look like Christmas napkins. I think she is going through this domestic stage and so maybe thinks I am too. It has never occured to me to get cloth napkins since I don't do much (okay, any) entertaining. Anyway, it was a nice thought but I have to admit I was a little puzzled. I gave her some books for her classroom on teaching poetry, and a multicultural poetry anthology. I guess that was more about me than her, since I just got done with an exciting poetry unit. Who knows if she will want to teach poetry to first graders (although the book is geared for younger kids). Oh well. I haven't gotten my present from Cassandra yet but I have a feeling I know what it is--either a Ja Rule or Eliott Smith CD (very conflicting musical styles, I know). Lucia said she got me something she hopes I don't already have, so I think she got me the newest Shaggy CD. I do have it, of course. I was thinking about Christmas and how I am tired of having to get gifts for people I don't even like that much but it is expected. My mom thought I was crazy to get Jasmine a gift. I also am obligated to get gifts for everyone in Justin's family and that adds up to a lot. I love getting gifts for people I want to buy for, but I wish I didn't have to get some for people just to be polite. I think big families should always do secret santa.

Anyway, I had better go off to bed.

previous - next