current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-02-25 - 9:14 p.m.

I am really having a good week so far, but am really nervous because I am having one of my formal observations tomorrow. I got to choose when my principal visits this week, and what period, so I figured I'd do it tomorrow to get it over with. I almost wish I had the chance to do it Monday (I had to think about it over the weekend, so didn't have the chance to have it for today) because the kids are always good on Mondays. In any case, they are up against a deadline to send in my evaluation by Friday. I guess I'm not the only one who procrastinates. :) He asked me about it on Friday so I've been nervous all weekend. My principal is awesome, and he's visited my room probably three to four times on those informal drop-in visits (but they are like two minutes long). He also observed me three times last year, so I'm sort of used to him watching, but it's still very nerve-wracking. The worst part about being observed is that I know I'm not at my best because I'm too nervous to joke around as much as usual with the kids, etc. I guess epiphany knows what I'm going through because he's getting observed this week too.

I thought for awhile about what I might do, but I decided to just go with what I would have done anyway. I'm not here to put on some show for the principal, you know? I have been reading Twelve Angry Men with the sophomores and they are pretty into it. We will be finishing it tomorrow, reading it aloud since it's a play, and most of them have parts. I decided to have him watch seventh period. I know in the past that would be a shock, but you know how good they've been lately. Anyway, after they finish reading it, they are going to be doing this reflective activity where they relate to the text through writing and then put on skits based on their reflective writing. I actually think it will be fun, but he won't get to see the skit part.

The other thing is that I have two drop-in visits for the other two (first-third year teachers have to have three observations a year). They will happen this week and next week. They are only doing two before they send in the evaluation, then he will do a third afterwards. They're not really supposed to do it that way, I don't think, but the principal was all, "Well Ms. B's a second year teacher so I don't see the harm in it." So he will do the observation tomorrow, then the vice principal is coming in on Thursday (because I have to do something for the committee I'm on on Friday, and Wednesday is reading day). He said he had some thing in the morning, so basically I know it will be either fifth or seventh and he will be staying half an hour. Some drop-in visit, huh? I don't mind at all that I know that. Then next week it will be Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday with the principal dropping in because I have the NCTE conference on Thursday and Friday. So I'm feeling okay about that, too, because at least I have a general idea of around when he will be coming. I still feel like I want to die, but I'll survive. In our pre-conversation he was very positive and reassuring. I told him he might be able to tell how nervous I am from his previous pop in visits but he said I must do a great job of hiding it. He also said that I'm doing a great job and he's not worried, plus no one has said that they have doubts or that they know I'm having a hard time (who would say that, when no one ever watches my classes?!), so he has that to go on as well. So overall I am just hoping that I don't get stage fright tomorrow and will do okay. I told the kids that he was coming in and that they should just be their sweet selves. They thought that was pretty funny. I am getting along well with seventh and they are usually sweethearts, so I'm hoping I don't have to worry about many behavior issues. I told them he would be watching me, not them, so not to worry about it.

Anyway, I feel pretty good about this week because I pretty much know what I'm doing for the whole week, which isn't always the case. I'm definitely nervous about tomorrow, but at least I'll get it over with. I'm not as nervous about the vice principal's visit, but am somewhat, because you know how sometimes the kids are crazy and I have this idea like, "What if someone walked in here right now? What would they think?" Well, it's quite possible that could happen since it's a pop-in! Ugh. It will probably be best if it is seniors because they just started a novel and we will be doing lots of reading aloud and they're always good during that time. Also, Thursday we are only going to be doing skits for a little bit, and then a movie, so he wouldn't get to see much teaching going. But whatever, he'll see what he sees.

I forgot to mention how my weekend was. It was pretty non-eventful. Justin came down and we went and ate Subway, and rented Don't Say a Word and Ghost World. I thought the first was okay, but I really loved Ghost World. I thought it was really cute and well done. We were going to go to this festival thing around here, but it was way too crowded. I was sad to miss it, especially when we ran into a bunch of drunk people at Wendy's who just came from the festival. They were actually really obnoxious, but it made me jealous. I want to be drunk and obnoxious too. Justin is on this new plan that he is not going to drink anymore. I bet that plan will last until he next gets together with Mark. I kind of don't like the idea, but he can do what he wants. He can just be my designated driver. I rarely drink anyway, but it's not fun to be the only one drinking.

I was sad that I missed 'NSync playing at the Olympics. Justin called me up afterwards to see if I had watched it. Nice, huh? He was cracking me up after some celebrity basketball game he saw on TV. Apparently the announcer was interviewing Justin Timberlake after the game, and he asked Justin T. a question. Something like, "What did you think of the layup that so and so did over you?" Justin T., apparently, had no idea what the announcer was talking about, but didn't want to look stupid. So instead of answering the question he was like, "Um...riiiiiiiiiiiiight." Justin does this funny dorky voice when he does it. He says that that, on top of the Model Behavior TV movie, would turn me off to Justin Timberlake forever. The whole reason I like Justin Timberlake in the first place is that he's like a guy you would like in high school. He's kind of cute, but sort of in that so-ugly-that-he's-cute way. He also has that sort of petite body structure that some high school boys have. I like him because he's the dork-next-door.

Okay, cross your fingers for me about tomorrow.

previous - next