current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-02-26 - 10:00 p.m.

I just wanted to write really quickly to say that my observation went really well! I am so glad. I was nervous all last night and could barely sleep, then today I had this euphoric(sp?) sense of calm wash over me. "I can do this." I repeated over and over all day. I felt almost completely comfortable while he was watching (a first) and was able to be myself and smile and laugh with the kids like usual (when I am being observed I feel so tense normally that I can't). We read for part of it out loud, and then I gave them their assignment and told them an example story from my own life. I had them vote on whether or not they thought I did it (took back a coat someone else just stole for money), and they were really into my story. My principal actually noticed a bunch of little subtle things I did like looked around to make sure everyone was following along, and whispering to a kid to get back on task. He also said he liked the example I gave and could tell they really relate to me. He thought it went well and didn't tell me anything I needed to improve upon! Anyway that made me so happy.

After that I took the mentor kids out to dinner and we had fun. I heard some gossip from them, as usual, and you know how I love the gossip. We also ran into other kids there and I nailed one of them for skipping my class today! Apparently he had a valid reason though, so it was funny.

Anyway, I have to get off since Justin just called.

previous - next