current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2006-02-05 - 5:41 p.m.

Here's something that I never thought I would say. I am really starting to love tofu. Chad cooks with it all of the time (just about every meal), and he got me actually liking it. I even bought some myself. Yesterday I made tofu pad thai (the pad thai is a box thing, but still) and then today I made these frozen thai style green beans from trader joe's, but I mixed in tofu again. It was SO GOOD. I felt like a culinary genius.

Today we had a field trip and hanging out with the kids on the bus and watching their reactions during the movie (we went to see a Mt. Everest movie at the OMSImax theater) made me remember something I haven't remembered much lately: I have a really great job. Some of them had never been in an I-max type theater, and this one is curved, too, so seeing how they reacted was so cool. We talked about the movie, too, and although there is always a kid who says it sucked and they hated it, the majority of them were really excited by it. I liked it a lot better than the forces of nature one we saw the last time. The rest of the day was near perfect, too. The kids were mellow and into what we were doing all day. We also had a fire drill on a sunny day for once, so that was nice. I am also almost finished planning my TAG project for the TAG kids, so I'm excited about that. I have REALLY done poorly in the past meeting the needs of the higher kids, and this will be the first step toward having them have a more advanced curriculum. It's just one project (I think it will take three weeks or so), but then I can develop another one next year and so on.

Like I was saying, though, I really am starting to appreciate the kids we have this year more. I'm getting back to the place where I usually am--that of being able to find something good about every kid and being able to enjoy them for who they are. This is also the first year since the change in the schedule at the halfway point that my shorter class that I see every day hasn't turned into a nightmare. They are still delightful and my best class. I am so thankful for that.

This weekend I am going to go get a massage with my friend Mandy and then we are going to go shopping and attempt to go to the Cheesecake Factory (it's new and at the mall, so it's a huge wait). We are really excited. I have never had a professional massage, but it was her idea for a Christmas present to each other. It should be fun.

I'm almost finished with season one of Desperate Housewives. I got it on Netflix and I really love it. Hopefully they will do the second season in order on repeats this summer. We'll see. I have also been watching Absolutely Fabulous, Scrubs, and Undeclared. I am not as on board with Scrubs as most people seem to be, but it is definitely entertaining. I really like being able to watch tv shows on Netflix. It's my favorite thing about it.

Well, I just wanted to try to keep the updating thing regular again. We'll see how it goes.

previous - next