current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2006-08-11 - 9:03 p.m.

Things are the same. I start therapy on Monday, which should be a good thing. I warned the new person that I have some issues with tricking the therapist into thinking that I don't need therapy any longer. Hopefully I click with her and find her helpful. I found my last one helpful to a certain extent, but we had some issues as well.

I am pissed at my roommate again. Here is why. The apartment we live in is two bedroom/two bathrooms. There is a main bathroom, which is across from her room, and then there is my bathroom, which is inside my bedroom. Well, people logically want to go into her bathroom since it is the main one, and a little awkward to go into someone's bedroom. Unfortunately, my roommate is a huge slob. She doesn't even have a hamper, she just throws her clothes all over her bathroom floor. Let's not get started on the state of her room. It looks like the way my room looked when I was a teenager--except ten times worse. And I was a messy teen. But whatever, it's her room. Normally I just ask friends to use my bathroom, but this weekend I am having three friends stay here with me. Since they will be staying in the livingroom on the sofa sleeper and a mattress, it would be nice if they could use the main bathroom, too. So I told her about them coming on Tuesday, and asked if it would be okay for them to use it since there are so many of them. She said that was fine and that she would clean it up, I should just let her know when they are coming. I told her that they are coming on Friday. Then I called her yesterday to remind her that they are coming. She said that she would clean the bathroom and would also make some treats for them. I said that would not be necessary. Anyway, I was at Chad's last night (I know, but he changed my oil and set up my wireless internet) and then this morning I got a text message from her saying that she got stuck doing this garage sale and would be there today and tomorrow. "Sorry--no treats," she said. Well, guess what? Sorry, no clean bathroom. It's just RUDE and inconsiderate and straight up dirty. I would be appalled to have my roommate's friends visit and see my disgusting, filthy bathroom. I don't feel comfortable cleaning it up, so now it will be all awkward for my friends if they stay with me (they may just end up staying with other friends all three nights) because they will all have to use my bedroom bathroom. It just makes me so annoyed. How hard is it to just clean it up? She had plenty of warning. Mandy said maybe she purposely did it to establish that it is HER bathroom and I need to make guests use my bathroom. Ugh.

In other news, Nathan called and invited me to a bbq at his house on Saturday. He also invited Mandy, and we have been out of the invite list for any of his social gatherings for a long time. So I suppose he is trying to repair things with us! I thought that was nice, but unfortunately I can't make it. I did thank him for the invite. I think Mandy is going. The only reason that she was not being invited, I think, was because she was such good friends with me. So that was pretty unfair. Anyway, he is still not forgiven, but I guess I am feeling better about him in general.

I am really disappointed because the terrorist threats and delays means that one of my favorite bands--Snow Patrol--will not be playing at The Bite of Oregon this Sunday. Some of the band members were delayed in the UK and will not be able to make it here in time. I am sad because I was going to go with Chad, and I really wanted him to see them. It was also going to be only $7.00. They are playing here again in September, but it is sold out and $20. Boo!

I did get to hang out with my friend--Cassandra--for a little bit. I felt bad because she invited me to go with her and her other friends tonight, too, but I felt awkward and unsure about it, so I said I would hang out with her tomorrow. I hope she wasn't offended. I also had a huge headache and felt sort of overstimulated for some reason. My social issues just don't stop. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. We are going to go to lunch and stuff, I think, and then to see Sleater-Kinney's last show ever. Not that I have ever seen them before, and I don't even really like some of their songs, but I do like some others. It should be fun.

Sunday is supposed to be my last time hanging out with Chad for a while. We'll see if that lasts and whether that will be a good thing. We both realize that something really needs to change. And I keep foolishly waiting for him to realize that we need to get back together, but clearly that is not what is going to happen.

I have been mildly diverted from my own love life issues because Justin has finally started to date. He met a girl who ended up being super flaky and basically making plans and breaking them and stuff like that. He was taking it really hard, so I wrote him an ad for Craiglist. He got 10 responses so that seemed to boost his confidence and he has exchanged numbers with one girl who sent her picture (I set him up an email address specifically for it, and he doesn't mind that I have been checking it, too). I guess he talked to her for about an hour and they plan to meet up sometime next week. She was really pretty and is also a teacher (pre-school), so Justin will most likely once again be the listener for countless teaching stories. Hopefully things go well for him. I do feel weird about the situation, but I want him to be happy, and I am not able to make him happy. The idea of him dating someone else bothers me a little bit, but it's time for him to move on. I feel like we have been better friends, ironically, since he has started dating in general...because he calls me for advice and to vent, and I am playing more of a knowing friend role than an ex-girlfriend role. I also had fun writing his ad for him. However, I may feel a little less positive about the experience if my ad ends up resulting in him meeting the woman he will marry and I am stuck alone with my two cats for the rest of my life!

Well, I started tracking my eating and exercise on sparkpeople since I finished my SELF challenge. It makes it a lot easier to see how many calories I eat in a day, and they give you a chart of how many calories are from fat, protein and carbs. I am eating a little bit above the calories they recommend (they say 1250-1550 or something like that, and I eat about 1650), but it is good to see how it all works. I am drinking eight glasses of water now, which I always struggle with, and I am going to try to modify my diet to the recommended amount of calories. I have been doing really well with exercise again, so that's good. I just eat way too much junk, and I never, ever can make chocolate chip cookies again. I made them for Chad as a thank you, and they turned out flat and weird looking, so I didn't have him take them afterall. But they were still delicious so I ate about thirty cookies. Literally. Thirty. Not in one day, but still. So I had to throw a bunch out. It was a bad situation. Very bad.

I took the most adorable picture of my British cat when he climbed into a box about three times smaller than he is, but I can't get it to send to flickr and it is making me ANGRY. Oh well.

Oh, here is a fitness question for anyone who knows--how many sets and reps do you usually do when you are weight training? I have been very sporadic about it. Sometimes I do fifty in a row without a break. Sometimes I do three sets of ten. Does it matter? Are those extra ones redundant, or is it worthwhile to do more reps? I don't want to gain muscle, I just want to tone up. Give me some tips if you have any. Also, my knee has started to hurt when I do the treadmill (it doesn't on the elliptical). What should I do to get it to stop? It is keeping me from my running and is making me sad.

The End

previous - next