current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2007-12-10 - 10:20 p.m.

Just wanted to say that I finally signed up with match.com, and I am getting a little overwhelmed with it already. When I did craigslist it was over the summer, and I had a lot more free time. There are too many people in the "Your Turn" category right now for me to have time to keep up. I guess I just need to be more picky. At least match.com tells you that it's your turn!

I actually met one of them tonight, and he seemed pretty into me (he sent a follow-up email, and asked me out again). I am lucky because I am pretty good on the first date, and they usually seem to want to go out again. I had no problem talking with him and had a decent time (and he insisted on paying, so it was free). However, I just didn't feel the chemistry, and he had a number of things that didn't really work for me. First, he sort of had an effeminate way of speaking (he does list his profile as straight...but?) He also is only 26, which isn't a problem, but could be a problem if we are at different places in life. And I think we kind of are. Finally, I felt like he revealed a little too much information for a first meeting. We were talking about some kind of heavy stuff (his abusive father, my family background), so maybe that's why he felt compelled to tell me this. But during our whole past relationship talk he revealed that he had just moved down here not long ago, and before he left he was living with a girl. This girl did a bad thing in that she cheated on him and, "got something." Then he said, "And guess how I found out?" Um. Yeah. So is he trying to tell me he got an STD that is curable, or is he trying to tell me that he has something like Herpes, and that was his awkward way of revealing it? Either way, WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY?!?!?!

So we'll see. I have another one lined up for Thursday, but I'm not sure how excited I am about this one either. He's an engineer, which is fine, but he seems to think he is super smart (uses big vocab. words--but I guess so did P), and he is a little pushy by email. We'll see what happens. If he is sweet and giving like P was, that will be fine. He is cute from his pictures.

I also talked to another guy that I actually thought was a little out of my league. I "winked" at him on there because I thought he was really hot--he's 6'3" and Chinese and he has a nice body (almost too nice, I don't like it when guys have big muscles, but he's right on the edge). Anyway, he emailed me and then tonight he called me. He seems like he has A LOT going on because he works full time and is in law school and he works out all the time, but he told me his schedule and maybe he does have time...who knows. He was the easiest to talk to on the phone, so hopefully if we meet in person it will be the same way. I guess I'm most excited about him. The other guy that I am playing phone tag with seems very sweet, sincere, cute, knows what he wants, but there was one red flag. I'm still thinking about if it's a deal-breaker. Anyway, we are supposed to meet up at some point, too...I hope.

Then there is that guy that I went out with a few weeks ago. There hasn't been that much contact, and I feel like either he is super shy or not that into me or both. He has messaged on myspace, and he invited me to his birthday party (at a club downtown, but it will be VIP), and he asked me about dinner and a movie. But he also has a big deal-breaker. So I think I'm going to his party with my friends and see if we can just be friends, but if not...oh well.

So yeah, I'm dating people and trying not to get too attached too quickly. There is no danger in that since I don't really have chemistry with the two guys I have met so far.

I also suddenly have everyone wanting me to set me up. Friday my friend wanted to set me up with her friend. This is my friend who has some issues. Well, she wanted to set me up with a 23 year old who is too young for her (she's 36), but is "super mature." Whatever, I am up for anything. Well, the guy shows up to our happy hour and sits by her, sort of away from me so I can't even interact with him (he knows she is trying to set me up and who I am). So she flirts with him the whole time, and I don't interact with him. Then she texted me later asking what I thought of him. Um, how would I know, I didn't even get to talk to him? He was decent looking, but I can't tell if someone is cute if I don't even hear their voice. So that was weird. The same night one of our guy friends from work called. This is a guy that I went to Las Vegas with on the second school conference. In other words, he has seen me at my absolute worst/drunkest. I have sort of a mini-crush on him, but he is that he is way shorter than me. WAY SHORTER. He also is a republican who loves fishing, hunting, and country music. Yeah, not my type. So he told me that he has a friend with him he wants to set me up with. He never, ever goes out with us, so we were super excited to hang out with him. We were so excited that we decided to go to my least favorite bar in the entire universe because he insisted that we should meet him there. This is a place that A.) Has bartenders who dance on the bar is if it is the year 2000 and Coyote Ugly just came out, B.) Has a mechanical bull C.) Has line dancing and plays only country music D.)Has contests that include girls taking blow job shots on stage in such a a way that it looks like they are giving guys actual blow jobs. Pretty much my worst nightmare.

So we go there and my friends ride the mechanical bull, and I am not driving and get completely trashed (is this a theme that will ever stop?) So our friend's friend seems kind of cute, but really shy. So I'm trying to talk to him, and our friend is saying he likes me, even though he hasn't even asked him if he is into me. Then the guy sees this girl who he knew in high school, and spends the rest of the evening talking to her. In the meantime, I am feeling a little bit sad about that and proceed to get even more trashed. I dance (which, I never dance), and our friend can barely hold me up. So basically I am flirting with my short friend from work all night, throwing myself at him because drunk Ms. Boombastic=flirty, lonely, crazy Ms. Boombastic. He was very sweet and seemed to be having fun, but I felt kind of embarrassed. My other friend and I ended up going over to his house, and he was really drunk at that point and asked me to stay the night (this is after I tried to get him to make out with me, though, so it is kind of understandable). I did not stay the night or make out with him, but he did hug me and grab my ass. SUPER EMBARRASSING. I went to apologize this morning and he said not to worry that he never drinks because of that reason--because we both act like idiots when we drink and do stupid things. So that was fine. He was very sweet about it. Still embarrassing...and that is, what, the fourth one of my male coworkers that something has happened with? I heard someone call it workcest the other night, and that is so true for our school. Ugh. Anyway, I actually had one of the best times in a long time that night.

So the next night was our staff Christmas party. I might not go next year. I never really have a good time. It was fine, but nothing special.

I still need to go into why I hate Nathan and Scarlett now in more detail, but I feel like it will just get me all angry...so maybe I just need to let it die.

Two weeks until Christmas break! :)

previous - next