current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2010-01-13 - 10:40 p.m.

Last week was not too bad, but this week has been excruciatingly slow. I can't believe tomorrow is only Thursday...I want it to be Friday so much.

I tried running again yesterday, because I got an email to the whole school about the Shamrock Run. So I ran a mile and then had treadmill issues and just walked the rest of the time. At least I can still run a mile, but I am sad I can't run 4 miles like I was running when I was doing my best with it. This was the run that I wanted to be my first 5K...now I am not sure. Part of me says that I should just sign up and train for it as hard as I can--eight weeks is a doable amount of time to get back up to being able to run that much. I just really, really, really want my first 5K to be a complete success (running the whole time without any walking breaks). I'm nervous that I will not be ready. If I sign up, of course, that is huge motivation to get ready. I wrote down a plan that would probably work in slowly getting me there. I still have a really hard time running outside instead of on a treadmill, though. And there is not much time to practice since I usually get home when it is dark. Ugh. But it would give me something to look forward to and challenge me. Maybe I need that.

Tonight I did phone banking for two measures that are going to be on the ballot, 66 and 67. One raises taxes on people who make above a certain amount. The other raises the corporate minimum tax. Some businesses pay only the minimum, $10, in Oregon. This number has not been raised since 1931. What?!?!?! These measures both are essential for public schools, safety, etc. Anyway, I hate doing those kinds of calls, especially when people are rude or hang up in your face. It seems like it might be a really close one, too. This would mean even more cuts in all of Oregon's schools, and we really had significant cuts this past year. My classes are bigger than they have ever been (the biggest is 34, and it is worse for some of the seventh grade teachers). The kids have no sports except track. Many jobs were cut, including Spanish as an elective. Ugh.

I really don't hate pregnant people or engaged people--I love my friend who I am organizing the baby shower for very much. It's just hard sometimes not to be EXTREMELY jealous.

This does not mean to say that I can't make a list of all the luxuries I have because I am single. The biggest one is SLEEP. I love to sleep, and on the weekends I can sleep as much as I want.

I can't go without saying that I really feel for the people in Haiti right now. What a horrible tragedy.

previous - next