current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-01-01 - 1:59 p.m.

Wow, I woke up this morning to find that it had snowed a lot. I think it's a nice way to start the new year. It snowed a few days ago, but this is the biggest amount of snow we have seen in a long time. It's about four inches, but we are snow wimps here. It's really beautiful. Justin and I went out and walked to the store and to check if my mom got home safely from work last night.

I had a good New Year's Eve with the person I love. We decided that we didn't want to go out. We went out the night before with Mark and Elizabeth, and even though they invited us down for New Year's, we decided against it. I just wanted to relax, eat snacks, and watch movies. We didn't even drink any alcohol. My mom came over for a little while and we watched About a Boy, and then later on we watched Scarface. We watched the ball drop, and then stayed up late watching Punk'd on MTV, which for some reason we can never get enough of. I am ready for 2004 to be a great year.

2003 was a really good year for me, I would say. I finished my third year of teaching at a place I really liked working. I was given a really good evaluation and moved from being a probationary teacher to a regular teacher. I got a new job and realized that I love middle schoolers. I moved back to Portland. I moved in with my boyfriend. It's all in here, so I'm not going to go into it too much. But I am happy. I'm not happy every day, but overall I am right where I want to be.

In one year I assume it will be time for my high school ten-year reunion. I think that is the craziest thing that I have ever heard of. If I get an invitation I am definitely going to go. Lucia better go, too. I want to see how people turned out, although I don't think many people will remember me. I was only at the high school I graduated from for two years, but it was a good two years. I am fine with the way I look, and I am proud of what I have done since high school, so there is no reason for me not to go. I just can't believe that I am getting so old.

I never did mention how the Christmas party ended up going. I got pretty dressed up, which was cool. The party wasn't so much fun. It was at a fancy place, but I wasn't that impressed with it for the price we had to pay to go. I also just felt sort of bad because we felt all shy and no one really seemed that interested in talking to us. The people that I eat lunch with, who I sort of thought I would end up talking with, sat at a different table and didn't even come up to me to say hi (and yes, I did make a point of going to say hi to them). I just ended up feeling down on myself. The only people that made a point of saying hello to me were Mr. Beavers Fan and his wife. He and Mr. Engaged were the only people who felt like they were actually my friends because when I said hi to Mr. Engaged (who came late) he made a point to come sit with us. I thought that was very sweet, considering the fact that maybe I am difficult to talk to since people might know they have to make more of the conversation than when talking to someone else. Sometimes I feel like people don't give me a chance because I am shy. Anyway, I didn't drink, and proved that I can control myself at a staff function, so I guess that is something. I doubt I will go again, unless I have made better friends next year. It just wasn't my type of thing.

I have so much work to do to get ready for school again, but I really don't want to do it. Instead, I have been reading for fun. I just finished Losing my Faculties by Brendan Halpin. This is a great book if you are a teacher, or are thinking about it. I would say it is one of the most accurate accounts of what being a teacher is like. The guy is a great writer, too. It's not a how-to manual, it is more of a memoir. I would definitely recommend it.

My sister is having her birthday party on Saturday, so I really hope the snow has cleared up by then. I went up with the three oldest kids to visit my father and other family on Monday. It was cool riding with them, and I got some presents. My sister was in Europe for the semester and she brought me back a plaid scarf from Scotland and a hello kitty bag from Italy (both of which I loved). Everyone seemed to like the gifts that I got them, too. It was, once again, a little awkward. I think my father feels really sort of uncomfortable around me, which is understandable. It is almost like he feels guilty, but I am just glad that I have the chance to get to know him. I want to be able to get past the awkward part, but it's hard since we don't get together all that often. I feel comfortable around the oldest kids, especially my sister. She is the one that I feel closest to, partly because of our IM conversations. The hardest thing is that everyone in this new family seems to have the same phone-phobia that I do. I absolutely hate calling people and feel weird talking on the phone.

I did have a good time up there, though. I am happy that I went, and I need to go again soon. I was also invited to Maine for spring break by my stepmother's sister, and to my brother's concert in March. I'm constantly amazed by their acceptance of me. It sounds corny, but I feel really blessed.

I hope everyone had a wonderful, fabulous start to the new year.

previous - next