current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-01-08 - 8:26 p.m.

I think I passed a very good test for a relationship--being trapped in the house for three days (going on four) together. Portland is having a crazy ass winter storm, and the city has basically shut down. Well, there are things open, but overall things have come to a stand still. School has been cancelled already for tomorrow, making it the fourth day. What sucks is that we might have to make up one or two of the snow days. So, we came back from vacation for one day, and then we have four more days off! It has been crazy, but very relaxing.

So, what have I been doing? A lot of grading that I slacked off on doing over break. A lot of TV watching. A lot of eating. A lot of pop drinking. A lot of interneting. Very little reading, although I did finish Michael Moore's awesome book Dude, Where's My Country?. I love love love Michael Moore.

Before our winter storm hit (which, really, the newscasters are having orgasms over--if I hear the word treacherous one more time...), I went out with my sister for her 21st birthday. It was me and Justin, my oldest brother and his girlfriend, another couple that my sister is friends with, and her pseudo-boyfriend from back east. The 18-year-old brother drove us around and picked us up. It was so much fun! I really was glad I got to go. I tried red bull and vodka for the first time, and have decided that must be my new drink. It was really good. I paced myself and didn't drink too hard. Sadly, that was not the case for the birthday girl. I guess it's a prerequisite that you must get trashed on your 21st birthday, right? She threw up at the table at the bar, and she felt pretty bad about it. I told her my entire drunken puke girl story, though, and she seemed to feel a little bit better. I really, really like my brothers and sisters. They are hilarious and cool.

My oldest brother is going to school in New York right now, and I have never been. Maybe I will be able to go visit him sometime, because I am curious what it is like. He brought us all I heart NY t-shirts for Christmas.

Oh, one last thing. I know that the expression "to' up" (pronounced toe-up, i.e. "I thought I looked cute, but then I looked in the mirror and realized I look to' up!") is a common-place phrase right? I said that at my sister's 21st and everyone was like, "I've never heard that phrase before." Huh? Maybe I live in my own fantasy world, but I thought it was widely used.

previous - next