current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-06-21 - 5:21 p.m.

Okay, things are going well enough with the new boy that I need to come up with a name for him. His real life name is really cute, and also the name of my first love...but let's call him Ben. I think that's one of the most adorable names.

So I saw him again on Sunday. I really, really like him. We just went to see Batman Returns, and then we hung out. He's just so sweet and funny and giving. He seems so happy to be with me, and he's not at all commitment-phobic. In fact, we already have talked about not wanting to see other people! He also has such a great body...Anyway, I am hoping that things won't end up the way the last two did, where they really seem to like me at first, and then they get to know me and think I am an emotional crazy mess. I have a really good feeling about Ben, though. He is really different than either of them. It's so nice to have someone who wants to hang out with me as much as I want to hang out with him. It's also nice having someone who is willing to express how they feel and doesn't do these bullshit things that are all about playing games like Jose did when we first got together (example, waiting two days to call me the first time), so I don't feel like I have to play games either.

Then last night I went to Dante's with Justin to see Say Hi to Your Mom. I knew they were a kind of obscure group because no one else I am friends with has ever heard of them. But I didn't realize that no one in the city of Portland has ever heard of them. There were about ten people total there to see them, and I think only two of them had ever heard the music before. I felt very sad. I didn't think they were that good live, either, which was disappointing because I have always been begging Justin to go see live music with me...and he did for the first time in nine years, and it sort of sucked. Oh well.

Justin is actually pissing me off because he is constantly mad at me and is always making these little jabs at me. He wants to hang out with me and then he is mean to me, and then he makes me feel bad when I don't want to hang out with him. UGH! I have told him how I feel about it, but he continues to do it. He is becoming what Steven from The Real World Las Vegas would call a "toxic friend." I am so sick of it. I'm sorry I broke his heart, but I didn't do it on purpose, and I shouldn't have to pay for it every single day of my life.

I've been doing the writing scoring again. We had a refresher training yesterday, and then they selected me to be one of the people who rescores conditionally meeting papers. Basically, every paper is scored twice for six traits on a 6 point scale. You have to have 4's in all categories by both scorers in order to pass. Well, you can conditionally meet if you get mainly 4's and some 3's. But to count for A.Y.P., the papers actually have to meet. So some districts sent back a bunch of papers that were close to meeting to see if they were scored again by different people if they would get all 4's. So they chose the "fastest and most accurate" scorers from the Spring to do these papers. So I felt good about that, but scoring all of these 3/4 papers is a little mind-numbing. Usually you have a really good paper here and there to spice things up and make you feel better about the writing skills of the children. With 3/4 papers, you start to feel like a useless teacher, even though these aren't even your kids. So anyway...after one more day I should be able to score the regular papers again.

I saw a teacher from my student teaching days, and I was amazed at how much older he looked after five years! I wonder if he felt the same way when he saw me? I wonder if I look a lot older than I did when I was 22. I talked with him a little bit. There are also two people that were at the Spring scoring with me that I have been sitting with. I wouldn't call them my friends, but at least I have someone I know to hang out with. I'll be glad when this week of scoring is over.

I better get going...I have a few things to take care of before Ben comes over. Yes, I'm seeing him again. :)

previous - next