current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-05-12 - 6:03 p.m.

I don't know about you, but the movie Wayne's World holds a special place in my heart. Back in high school I was friends with this girl, Shelly. She owned the movie on tape and she watched it over and over again. Even though it had been a few years since such catch phrases as, "Not!!!" and "Schwing" were popular and in demand (both coined by this movie, mind you), Shelly still used these phrases. She also was prone to say, "Chaaaaa right!" a lot.

Imagine a tiny Vietnamese girl saying all of the key phrases from Wayne's World all of the time and you will understand my love for the movie. I immediately bought the movie when they had this special Wayne's World promotion at McDonald's. I watched it religiously, and still have it nearly memorized. Honestly, it gets better every time you watch it. In fact, the first time Justin came over to my house, we watched it together. He ASKED ME FOR PERMISSION to put his arm around me. Kind of corny, but I went with it...and here we still are.

I don't know what brought that up, other than watching old SNL episodes. Now they're playing old New Edition videos on VH1Soul, but I won't even go into that again.

It's been a good weekend, except for the fact that I have been so exhausted. I planned on watching SNL last night, especially after hearing Kirstin Dunst was going to be on, but then fell asleep at 10:30. That's unheard of for me on Saturday night. I woke up this morning at 9:00 AM but convinced myself that was far too early to get up. After about forty-five minutes, I fell asleep again and woke up at 2:40! What? That's what, fifteen hours of sleep? Either I'm really lazy, or I am sick, or both. I don't feel sick other than that groggy, too-much-sleep feeling, and a big fat headache.

Tomorrow I'm having a guest speaker with the sophomores, and the seniors are continuing a project they already started, so I don't have to do any planning at all! Yay for me. I'm also pretty much caught up on grading, except for two periods, so I feel good about that.

Do you ever just feel like buying something just because you're bored? That's how I've been feeling lately. I don't have extra money to do it with, since I've been pretty bad about spending this month, but still I want to buy something big and exciting. Not good.

I'm thinking about watching the LA Law Reunion movie tonight. I used to always watch that show with my mom. I did call and wish her happy mother's day, and her card got there on time. I also sent a present, separately, but that didn't make it on time. Oh well, she seemed happy enough, but sad to be without me on the day.

Oh no, they're now playing a Bobby Brown video. How I feel about Justin Timberlake now? That's how I was about Bobby Brown in fifth grade. Oh man, I loved him. Especially the song "Tender Roni." Too bad he is so not cute.

I'm just trying to not dread going back tomorrow. I'm trying to tell myself how much I enjoy teaching. I really do. The kids have been good. But Sunday night I just have this awful sense of dread. I don't want to go there, I don't want to go there. Luckily, after this five-day week we have the three day weekend coming up. We actually have an inservice day so we have two four day weeks coming up with kids. Still, this week will be hard to get through.

I took this cool "What WB sitcom" test sent to me by WT. I, like him, was Gilmore Girls. Was there any ever any doubt? :)

My main complaint about VH1Soul is that they always play this video by someone named Rez, which I absolutely can't stand. They play it all the time. I can't figure it out.

But I guess they make up for it by playing oldschool videos by L.L. Cool J.

I just wanted to send a shoutout (speaking of oldschool!) to two people who left very nice guestbook messages for me. Thanks to Tabbie and Starbreeze. Your messages really made my day! :)

previous - next