current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

18 December 2002 - 10:31 PM

I just got home not long ago from the staff Christmas party, and I'm glad I went. I was thinking about ditching out, but I had a really good time.

I had to stay until about 6 at school to finish some grading and get my test for Friday ready (I'm so mean to my advanced kids, they have a test Friday and the rest of the classes are having a party and no work!) I then ran by to get some Jubelale (yes, that's really what it was called, some festive Christmas ale). The worst part was that I think one of my students saw me. He is this student who made up this complete fabrication about how I was buying a cartful of forties at the store in town. Hello, I haven't drank a forty since my first year of college. That's a high school thing. So hopefully I won't have a whole lot of explaining to do tomorrow. I try to avoid buying beer or alcohol there because ten billion kids work there, but what can you do when you're in a hurry?

I saw two of my favorite students there tonight (both are teachers' kids) from last year, so it was great to catch up with them. I had them both two years in a row, so obviously I love them to death.

Then I spent the rest of the time talking to Mr. Jokey-teacher's wife. She is the mother of one of the girls and one of my current students, and I just like her a lot. She made me feel incredibly good because she was telling me how well her daughter is doing in class and how she credits me for her improvement in writing as well as for helping her develop a love of reading. I actually gave her daughter the award last year for best reader because she read all kinds of cool books. Mrs. Jokey-teacher told me that she really started enjoying reading when she got to my class. Of course I was glowing over these compliments. Reading is really my thing, and I think the thing that the kids know that I love, so I feel so good that it somehow passes on.

Speaking of reading, I did a book talk on The Lovely Bones and two of my students went out and BOUGHT COPIES! I was amazed. I think that's the first time that has ever happened.

The other good thing was that after the party this cool teacher asked me if I wanted to go with them to go have a beer. Unfortunately, it was in the next town over (where many of the teachers live) but it was nice to finally feel like I fit in. I didn't feel uncomfortable at any point, and I just had a good time in general. That's so rare for me with parties. I really do like my coworkers, even if I don't see them as people that I could hang out with.

I am sort of nervous because I have this stupid goal setting meeting with my principal. I feel a lot more relaxed around him now, but you know how it is, you can never feel completely at ease with your boss. He seems to like me, and is very nice and fair and respectful. I also like him because he is a quiet person. Hopefully all will go smoothly. It is just this mandatory thing but those goal setting things make me feel so nervous. I always feel like a total failure as a teacher. I need to have a positive attitude and convey that so everyone thinks I'm a good teacher.

Tomorrow is the last day of poetry since we have having a party on Friday. I never had a Christmas party before, but I decided we might as well. I will also find out tomorrow if any classes want to do a poetry book or something of that nature. If they don't, I am at least going to get them to type up their favorite poem and cover the walls with poetry.

I had a really nice rest last night, although I missed my favorite shows. I laid down on the couch to watch TV at nearly 9 PM, and I fell asleep. I slept through the night, only waking up at 2 AM in a panic. I had set my alarms just in case. That's the first time I had been to bed before midnight in ages. I can't wait to sleep, sleep, sleep!

I am desperately trying to think of fairly inexpensive, but thoughtful gifts for 453534645 people. There is very little chance of any gifts getting there on time, but I at least want to have purchased something. I got a gift from my father in the mail already. I have no clue what to get most of them. I bought one thing for one brother but that's it.

I may have mentioned this before but the word "sammich" for "sandwich" is one of my biggest pet peeves in the world. Why would you call it that? It is so not-cool.

I never usually watch TV in the morning, but for the past few mornings I have been watching TV in the living room while doing my makeup. I just watch music videos. I was just thinking today how much r&b sucks nowadays. I enjoy certain songs, of course, but whatever happened to groups like Jodeci and even Shai? I watched the "Feenin'" video, and remembered why Jodeci is my favorite r&b group of all time. I guess I will be the kind of person who always listens to the oldies ninties station (I hope they make it soon). My kids will be like, "Ninties music sucks, Mom!" I just realized I have no idea if you spell nineties with an e or without. Sorry about that.

I've been reading Holler if you Hear Me by Greg Michie. Really, really good book about teaching. Read it. It's not a how-to book, but it is an account of his time with his students.

Word on the street is that they may be cutting jobs. If they cut as many as they say, my position may be cut. I am obviously one of the least senior people in the district. At my school there are four other teachers who are newer to the district than I am, but it really depends on how they shuffle everyone around. I don't even know if I will want the job still, since I am looking to move, but it is weird to think about being cut and not having the choice to stay. No matter what happens I will really miss this school because the kids are sweethearts, the staff is nice, and the administrators are wonderful. I am just scared to see what I will get elsewhere.

I have four classes to catch up on with grading tomorrow night, but I am determined to do it. I don't want grading hanging over me. The good thing is that I actually don't have that much to do since I have been keeping up fairly well. I want to actually give them printouts Friday so they can work on makeup work if needed over vacation.

I called a parent today to tell her how much her child has improved. I have this little guy in my freshmen class who has really turned himself around. I called her earlier this year, and another teacher did as well, about how much he was skipping class and being disruptive. When I called today I mentioned I had called earlier. She seemed very unhappy to hear from me until I explained I was calling to tell her how much her son had improved in behavior and attendance. He is also finally passing my class for the six week period. She was very pleased. I had asked him today if his mom was home during the day because I wanted to call her to tell her how well he was doing lately. He didn't seem to believe me but I told him that I was really calling for that reason and that I was proud of him. I hope this continues because he is such a sweet kid now. He says hi to me in the hall, he tries to do his work, and he even jokes around with me. I definitely have to remember to call home more when kids do a good job. My mom was also thinking about starting a thing where she makes little certificates for the kids which say, "Your good effort has been noticed," and have them redeem them for extra credit. I thought that was another way to give positive feedback. I might try that as well. Even though that seems like an elementary type thing, I really think they would like it.

Well I really must get to bed because tomorrow is not Friday, it's Thursday. Wish me luck with my last day of poetry. I had so many good ideas I made it into letting them pick out of a number of kinds...hopefully that plan will work well.

previous - next