current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-07-08 - 12:23 a.m.

Hi, I'm typing from my mom's house. Sorry for the lack of entries as of late, they may be few and far between since I'm trying to spend some time with my mom. :)

Thank you to those people that have signed my guestbook with nice entries! I am so excited that the whole banner thing is working and will check out people's sites soon. I really appreciate your comments.

I got another email from my father so I felt very good about that--his being the first one to write after our meeting. I really am feeling good about my decision to write him still, although still a little shaken up by the whole thing. We'll see how things go.

I got here last night so I am still feeling a little of the airplane feeling--you know how you are sort of tired and your skin feels weird and you look crappy when you look at yourself in the mirror? That airplane feeling. Yuck. Since they don't have any direct flights, it seems, I ended up spending most of the day at the airport or on planes. Luckily this time I didn't have to take one of those smaller planes for the connecting flight.

One thing I did notice yesterday at the Denver airport was the random searches. I don't know how the "random searches" work exactly at different airports around the country, but from what I observed there, when you go to get on your plane they stick your boarding pass into a machine. It seems like every five people or so get pulled out of line for the extra special search which includes their carry on luggage and being body searched with a wand. Well, in the line for a flight to Baltimore, I noticed that a person was pulled out of line before his ticket was put in and was asked if he was taking the flight to Baltimore. They then took him over to the extra special search section. This person just happened to be a young man who looked to be of a Middle Eastern background. They even went so far as to pat him down and ask him to take off his shoes so that they could wand his feet. He seemed very good natured about the entire thing, but I didn't see them do that to anyone else they randomly selected.

I should also note that I flew at Christmas with the same amount of transfers. This means that I boarded six separate airplanes since September 11th. Guess what? I have never been pulled aside for the special search. Statistically, it's very possible that I was just randomly missed, but for some reason I feel like it pays off to be white and female when you're at the airport these days.

I think I am going to change my links look. It's a small thing, but I guess since you only see the link if you scroll over it, it might make some people think that there isn't an actual link there when there is one. I realized that when someone asked what the link was for someone else in my guestbook. :) So anyway, hopefully I can remember how to change that.

I'm in a huge reality TV dilemma that maybe some of you can relate to. Wednesday, my favorite new reality show, American Idol is having the judges' choice competition for the tenth wild card spot. I'm completely obsessed with this show and am dying to see who the last person will be. However, I noticed in the TV Guide that opposite it will be the premiere of my other favorite reality show obsession--Big Brother 3! How can I deal with this choice? What will I do? My mom has a VCR but is unsure whether or not you can tape one show and watch another. Decisions, decisions.

Speaking of American Idol, I was pretty happy with the way the vote turned out. Since I was watching alone, I gave in to the temptation and called for three of my favorites. I voted for EJ and the last girl who sang, and they both got through. I really didn't like the third girl that got through, the rock singer girl. I voted for Kaleef, because I thought he was a fairly good singer, even though he didn't sing that song very well. I also think he is a cutie. Too bad he didn't win.

I am really sad and disappointed because About A Boy doesn't seem to be playing anywhere around here. I really wanted to see it. It also wasn't playing where I live, so I just have to wait for the video. It is one of the only movies I really wanted to see this summer.

I am kind of missing Justin now that I'm here. We were getting along really well and had a nice 4th of July together. Then his brother came home from his parents' house and brought their little cousin with him. Since Justin was driving me to the airport the next day, he assumed we would take him back with us. Plus, right after Jason got home, he went to work. This might sound selfish, but I wanted to spend my last day with Justin with Justin, not with Justin and his little cousin. It's not like he's one of those really obnoxious kids, either, but I really just wished he wasn't there and I could just hang out with Justin alone. So anyway, the last day, and the drive to the airport were all spent with his little cousin. Oh well.

I got a new pair of pants at Banana Republic today when we went to the mall. I'm always trying to find the perfect pair of khaki pants, and I think I just found them. Usually they just don't look right on me, but I look very good in these. They were on sale, so they cost the amount a pair of pants would cost at a regular store. I can't afford to pay full price there, so this was the first purchase I've ever made at that store. They have cute clothes, but I think they are pretty expensive.

Anyway, I will try to write periodically, but probably won't be writing as much as usual. I'm having a good time here so far!

previous - next