current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-07-02 - 10:34 a.m.

Because my banner has actually started to run now (I haven't seen it but the stats say so) I wanted to explain again why I chose to say "Why you frontin'? You know you want it!" on my banner. I already explained it in another entry, so here is a little cut/paste action for yo' ass:

Speaking of outdated slang, I just watched the funniest commercial ever. It was all, "WHY YOU FRONTIN' YOU KNOW YOU WANT IT?!?!" and then it was an advertisement for one of those compilation CDs, but the funniest part was that they were all hip hop songs from something like 1992. I was having an interior monologue about whether or not the commercial was actually made in 1992 and that was why there was the outdated "FRONTIN'" or whether it was a new commercial and the makers of the CD were like, "Let's take them back to 1992 by using the word 'FRONTIN''!" Whatever strategy they were going for, it definitely worked for me and I was about to order the CD before I realized that "Ghetto Superstar" by Mya was on there. I realized then that the CD was just wrong.

I still see the commercial all the time and still crack up. Who knows how this banner thing will work out, apparently only 2.8% of people who have seen it have clicked through. I am sure it takes a special type of person to read this stuff...ha ha.

Today is a good day. Sleeping in until 11 AM is always a good thing. I am actually missing the students right now. I still haven't quite got over the idea that I won't see this year's seniors again. I know I will have a whole set of new ones that will completely replace them in my heart, but right now I am still wallowing. The funny thing is that when I had a lot of those seniors as juniors I didn't even like them that much.

I've been thinking more and more about trying to get another job after this year. Our district is going through some major craziness again. The state is trying to balance the budget and it looks like we are going to be short billions of education dollars. So the district decided to make preemptive cuts, and they have already decided to close one K-12 school in a small community near my town. They also shortened the school year by five days to save money (meaning we get paid less). Everyone is outraged about the school, particularly since they said we would save about one million dollars by closing it but it is actually half of that because the school got about half of that money from the state because of being a small, rural school. So the original decision was made based on false information. The kids will most likely be going to the school I teach at, and we may get some of their teachers too. I have mentioned the English teacher before in here, and he's a cool guy, so I wouldn't mind working with him. It's not quite the same as having a new, young, female English teacher who will be my new best friend, though. We'll see, I'm not for sure if we are getting him or not, but it sort of sounded like that might happen. I also don't know if our class sizes will be bigger or what. It sounded like it would be a small number of kids since the whole school is K-12 and the middle school teacher said they would be getting about 40 kids. We'll just wait and see. I guess the ultimate point I was trying to make was that there is a whole bunch of discontent AGAIN in this district and I'm getting tired of working in a place that treats teachers and students like this.

I have to start thinking about doing my resume and such for this class I'm taking. I don't remember if I mentioned it, but I really am uncomfortable in the class because I am the only one who went to a different place for undergraduate. It's not like everyone is all buddy-buddy, it is more like everyone doesn't want to be there. I don't want to be there. It's just not fun. I am one of those people who usually enjoys having kids doing get-to-know-you, community building activities, but I am starting to rethink that whole thing after all of the workshops and meetings I've been going to lately. I am there because I want to learn about how to get my continuing license (or because I want to learn about our new textbooks, or because I want to get the curriculum guide written), and we constantly waste time with the niceties! I'm so tired of introducing myself and doing all these crappy introduction activities like say why I am an awesome teacher. Most of the time I won't see the people again, or will only see them a few more times, and I just don't care. And when they do some of these full-on introductory activities, combined with the general introductions they give reminding everyone how great they are and why they are there, it takes away about half an hour to an hour of time that could be spent working! Maybe it's different with students, or maybe it's not. I know I enjoy hearing about them, but I wonder what is going through their heads.

I really need to get going because I have a bunch of errands to run today, and laundry to do. Only a few more days until my trip! I'm still feeling a little overwhelmed about the meeting my father experience, and still don't really know what to say about it.

Here's a new diary I found from one of the banner clicks.

Visit her. I liked her writing.

previous - next