current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-06-10 - 8:34 p.m.

I was just looking through the personal ads on Yahoo because one of my students told me that one of the substitutes that works at our school has a Yahoo personal ad. I know, how awful of me. I didn't find his ad, but I did find this ad:

Hi, Thanks for reading my ad. I am a single 30 y/o male living in _____. I have never had a girlfriend or been on a date before. I have also never had sex before. In general, i am looking for women who want to be friends. In particular, i am looking for a woman who can teach me how to make love and please her. If you have any questions, just ask. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

How sad, huh? Why on earth would you say that in your ad? He has a picture, too. He's not attractive, but he isn't disgusting. I feel so bad for this guy. What a way to not get any responses--say that you have never been on a date. There are some people who haven't been on a date before, but sometimes when you hear that you think there must be a reason why they haven't. Anyway...I feel sorry for this guy.

I did find one guy from this area that looked familiar. I would hate to put an ad up like that. Please never let me have to do that. The worst is when they have spelling errors or homonym mistakes like their/there. I make mistakes like that sometimes, but if I was posting an ad I would make sure I had the correct ones. I am sorry to say I would not answer an ad with those kinds of mistakes. I guess I'm a homonym snob.

I wonder if the kind of guy that writes a personal ad would be actually a nice guy. Maybe he's quiet and likes to play on his computer and read. That sounds a lot like me. But I think I would just feel too weird meeting someone that way. I've actually met a few people who I met online. Back in high school I did this chat program and met some of the people from it in person because they lived in the area I went to college. They were very strange people. They definitely seemed nice, but were very odd. They liked to call me by my chat program name. Also they said things like, "Ms. Boombastic emotes a smile." because that was one of the commands on their chat program. It was very surreal. Now I can't even stand to chat with people I know, let alone with people I don't know.

I had to give a referral today to this girl. She asked me a question and I answered her and it sounded like she called me a bitch. I asked her what she said and she said loudly, "I said, you don't have to be so bitchy about it!" I was not at all bitchy when I answered her. I told her to go to the office. She has been rude to me all year, as can be expected if she thought it was appropriate to say something like that. I guess you could say that I don't really care for this girl. She has some good qualities, but she has been rude to me all year for no reason that I can think of. I have been nice to her almost all the time, but I do call her on it when she's rude to me. Anyway, I guess she decided to reveal her true feelings today (as if she hadn't made them apparent all year). I hope she gets ISS or OSS. If she actually called me a bitch it would be automatic three day suspension, but I can't be certain she called me one. What a bad way to start the week off, huh?

Tomorrow I have a meeting anyway, so I don't have to go to school. I am looking forward to it because I get to choose the new novels for next year. There is a pretty limited list, but I chose ten sets of novels from it. I am excited about it. It's cool being the English Department and making all the decisions. :)

I am so glad it's the last week of school. I do have a ton of grading to do, but it feels managable because it is only three classes.

We're having our end-of-year staff party on Thursday and I'm bringing Coronas. For some reason I'm really looking forward to it. I know it seems weird to want to party with a bunch of old teachers, but what can I do?

I haven't been able to check my email lately, it keeps acting up. Who knows why.

I just saw the cutest video of this guy named Mario. It was a remake of an old song, "Just a Friend 2002" I think it was called. I liked it because the video did not have any video hoochies in it. Also I think the guy, Mario is a cutie. I have a weakness for cornrows. Oh, I just read that Alicia Keys produced the CD. Hmmm.

Speaking of cornrows, I did watch Baby Boy and I thought it was incredibly bad. I did not care for it at all. How could you go from Boyz N the Hood to this? There were some good parts, but mostly it was bad. The highlight of the movie was Snoop Dogg, if that is saying anything. I have this strange thing for Snoop Dogg. I don't know what it is. He is so not attractive. Anyway, this movie confirmed my belief that John Singleton is a misogynist. He has some cool messages, but he wants to pound you over the head with them. He needs a lesson in subtlety.

Blah. I can't wait until this week is over! Teachers everywhere rejoice. :)

previous - next