current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

15 January 2003 - 9:25 PM

I have been having a few days of gloating over how great I am...I feel very conceited, but it is nice to feel good about yourself once in awhile, right? I used to be the biggest mess of insecurities, and I sometimes still am, but there are little things that make me feel really good.

There is this newer teacher at my school that started this year. He teaches some English classes, so since I am sort of a Department head, I wanted to make sure that he had everything he needed as far as resources. I also just go and ask him about various things he wants to do and tell him what kind of books we have. So I was running around trying to arrange how to spend this extra money we have, and was asking him what he might need/want. So we were talking about that and then we were talking about this new class he will be teaching next semester. We were talking about the formula for figuring out your reading speed rate, and he said he wanted to figure out the formula for figuring out the grade level of a book (there is some way to do this, but I don't know it). I was like, "Oh that's cool..." I guess I got some sort of look on my face and he was like, "I don't mean I want you to rush out and find out, though!" He smiled and said that I am the type of person who will do that--find out what someone needs and rush out and search out the answer, which is great but he doesn't want me to have to do that. I thought that was the nicest compliment. I have never seen myself as particularly helpful to anyone, and that was a really nice thing to hear--that he sees me in that way. I do think part of this was because I was trying to help him out when he first came, which is sort of what I am supposed to do, but it was still cool.

The other compliment came from a colleague. Teachers have to have three recommendations to apply for jobs. The first two are obvious--the principal and vice principal, but what about the third one? So I got up my guts to ask one of the women I worked with on my committee for a recommendation letter. She worked at my school the first year I came as a special ed. director person and she specifically told me I was really good at working with the I.E.P kids. I also just enjoyed working with her when we were at these meetings because we think alike on a lot of issues. I was nervous asking her but I sent an email explaining why and I told her I would understand if she wasn't comfortable doing it since we only worked at the same school one year. She wrote me back and said she would be delighted to write me a letter and that any school district would be lucky to get such a bright, capable and energetic teacher!

So obviously I have reason for feeling good about myself right now...I feel very lucky.

That show The Bachelorette is on in the other room. I have to say that I am feeling this show a lot more than The Bachelor. Maybe because I would like to be in that position, whereas I would hate to be in the position of being chosen...these guys are also hotter than the other millionaire main guys. What I want to see the most is the guys all moving into the house for the giant slumber party. That's why I'm not watching yet. Right now I am rooting for the firefighter because firefighters are hot, hot, hot!!!! I so want a firefighter. It's the only uniform that has any effect on me.

I do have to mention that even though I hate most eighties music, I really do love the song "Hey Now, Hey Now" by Crowded House. I feel like they had it on that episode of 90210 where Brenda and Dylan were just starting to date and he got into a fight with his dad or something, and then she was all dramatically running away because he was being a big ass. Then he started crying and it was all very passionate. Was that the song playing, or was it some other song? That was my all-time favorite episode, because who doesn't love it when bad boys start crying. Because really, I think, that's what liking bad boys is all about. You're really just secretly hoping they'll start sobbing and admit they are vulnerable and then you can take care of them like you were meant to. Isn't it? Am I right? I mean half of the appeal of Justin Timberlake right now is that he's supposedly heartbroken...

Anyway, I have an early morning staff meeting tomorrow, so I need to get going. Just for the record, I have a nice guy, not a bad boy. :)

previous - next