current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

14 January 2003 - 9:43 PM

I had a fabulous day. My lessons went well (I actually felt like kids were learning something from me today, which is definitely not always the case). I also got my guts up to tell my principal about how I may try to find a job somewhere else next year since Justin is going to be finishing school (and also am not sure if I will have a job next year due to budget cuts). I was so proud of myself for being so brave and just doing it. He is such a sweet man and was totally cool about it. He said that I have done good things with the kids and he understands why--that he knew eventually this would happen since Justin and I want to be together. He said he will have my recommendation by the beginning of next month (he brought it up). He did reassure me that he thought that I would have a job there next year since another English teacher will be retiring and I do have more seniority than a number of people at my school. Yay! I was just so nervous to explain it in a way that made sure that he realized how much I love to teach here and am not quitting, but that I need to start looking for a job somewhere else as well. Now I just have to hope that he gives me a really good recommendation. He always is very supportive and positive about me--rarely criticizes anything that I do (small things like pacing or waiting longer for kids to answer questions), but you never know how that will translate into the recommendation. Some people aren't the greatest recommendation writers. Anyway, I am nervous, but whatever he writes is what he writes. There is nothing that I can do about it now. I am just glad I got that out of the way.

I watched more Felicity episodes last night, including the commentary on the pilot. I felt that the creators of the show were my kindred spirits or something. They obviously loved their show and they like so many of the same things as I do about it. I thought it was really interesting to find out that the guy that plays Noel (Scott Foley) was originally cast as Ben. He tried out for Noel but they cast him as Ben, then they saw Scott Speedman and knew HE was Ben, so they cast him and told Scott Foley he would be Noel. I can't imagine Scott F. as Ben! I also watched the third episode and realized how wonderful Noel is as a character. I have totally rethought my Ben over Noel idea, and have decided that Noel is the one for me. He is soooooooooo adorable and he likes Felicity soooooooo much.

I got my My So-Called Life DVD set in the mail! I am so excited, but I think I am going to watch all of my Felicity episodes first. I wanted to watch them all in a row, which is insane, but that's how I am. We'll see...

I also had a great day because I went to the basketball games and one of my old students hung out with me for about an hour talking to me. He is one of those extra special students, so I was so pleased. Obviously he must feel the same since he spent that long talking to me. It's funny because he seems more mature, but then again just the same. It made my day.

previous - next