current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-03-22 - 11:04 a.m.

I have a doctor's appointment this afternoon, and a few errands to do. I still have the problems with my cousin weighing on me. I guess I will call her tonight and see how she is doing. My mom seemed to think that I did the right thing by telling her the way that she comes across to other people, because she feels like it is hurtful to know, but more hurtful to not know and always wonder why certain people don't seem to want to be around you. I still feel bad about hurting her feelings, but I am hoping it will ultimately be helpful. I'm not sure if this will change things between us forever or what.

It's weird being home by myself on a Monday. I am so relieved that I'm on spring break. I am hoping that I can get some of my stuff done early. Justin and Mark are going to go to the Blazer game tonight, so maybe I can use my time wisely.

I've noticed when I haven't written in a while my writing is so technical and boring. Oh well. I just am not feeling this online diary thing that much anymore.

I just noticed that Justin has something next to all of his basketball cards that is called a "screw screwdown." Sounds intriguing, right? I have no idea what it is.

The thing about my cousin is that this was the second time that she flipped out on people she doesn't know very well for no reason (my boyfriend and friends). Yet she has no concept why anyone would be pissed off at her about it. So I just told her the truth about how she treated my boyfriend and his brother, and I guess it led to her realizing that she has no idea how to interact with people socially. It was really awful because she was crying and there was a lot of drama and craziness, and even though she has always said she wants to know the truth about things like that, I don't know that anyone really can handle hearing the truth. She wanted to know how she could have acted differently in the situation we were in, and it was very difficult for me to tell her because we have completely different styles of interaction. She can be extremely condescending because she is smart, and thinks that she knows the answers to everything. Because I know that she doesn't mean to come across this way, I spend my time with her letting her explain things to me that I really already understand. But for people who don't know her as well, this could be really difficult. And she was extremely rude and condescending to Justin and Jason, but she had no idea that she was being that way--she thought she was helping to solve a problem for everyone. Even after I explained it all to her, she still couldn't understand what was wrong, leaving her feeling completely hopeless about being able to ever come across in a different way.

Anyway, I need to get going to get ready for my doctor's appointment.

previous - next