current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-06-01 - 6:26 p.m.

Atatons had a funny entry today, you should go check it out. The best part about it was that it mentioned, "the barbie doll that we hated." I don't know about you, but everyone I know had a barbie doll they hated. I was actually the victim of two cruel neighbors, Annette and Amber, who were best friends. Anytime I played barbies with these girls (all of the barbies were owned by Annette), they always played on a major barbie hierarchy. Annette always got the best, newest barbie doll. Then Amber got the second best. I was stuck with the third best, unless Annette's cousin was there. Then I was stuck with the worst barbie, or even Ken. There is nothing worse than having to be Ken while playing barbies. Annette had some great barbies, too, which is why I must have put up with their fascist regime. She even had that special pink carrying case to hold all of them and their various outfits.

But I digress. I meant to tell you about my barbie doll that I hated. My most hated barbie doll was actually my very first barbie. Unlike other mothers, my mom was anti-barbie, and didn't want me to have one. Well, I finally convinced her that it was vital for me to have one. We headed over to Fred Meyer's and stood in the aisle looking at all of the dolls. Somehow--I'm not sure how she managed this--I ended up with a fake barbie! This barbie sucked bigtime. For one thing, it was hollow pale plastic, instead of the beautiful, tanned rubbery solid barbie everyone else had. For another thing, it had STRAIGHT arms. It was like Skipper (except the arms didn't fall off all of the time), instead of the bent-at-the-elbow barbie we all know and love. Finally, my barbie didn't even come with a cute outfit. Instead all it had was this pitiful swimming suit, and no shoes! It was an atrocity; you think you're getting barbie and you get an imposter.

Luckily, later on down the road I was able to get other barbies, including twist-and-curl barbie, and Hispanic barbie. To celebrate, I cut off all of fake barbie's hair and made her be the stand-in Ken. I never had a real Ken doll because when you get to buy a barbie you don't want to waste your purchase on Ken.

I've been listening to Barry White all morning. In case you didn't know, I loooooooooooooooove Barry White. You learn something new about me every day.

So I got my cards all written out for the seniors, and I managed to say something nice to all of them. All 64 of them. I am a true martyr/saint, and you should bow down to the fantastic Ms. Boombastic.

I'm starting to really worry about this presentation I have to do on Saturday. I'm starting to really worry because I haven't started it yet.

I'm starting to go crazy at my lack of human contact. The only contact I have had in the last three days(aside from phone calls) is running into 454650232 students at the store.

I better go work on my presentation. I think I've taken a long enough break.

previous - next