current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-06-09 - 5:04 p.m.

Things are beginning to look up. This is the last week of school, not to mention I am done with my portfolio presentation. I still have more to do to work on it (it isn't due until the 23rd), but I am basically done with most of it. My presentation went very well. Apparently other people did not stress as much over the presentation, or take it seriously that you were supposed to have a theme. I worked for hours on my presentation, and had a metaphor that I carried throughout. Everyone was really impressed (for the first time in my life I heard people say, "I don't want to follow HER!" after my presentation). I would say mine was either the best or the second best in the class! Go me. I was sort of mad to find out that I didn't have to take it as seriously as I did, but hopefully that will win me brownie points. It isn't as if I wasn't going to get an A anyway, but still.

I am really excited for the summer, although I have quite a bit of grading to do, and cleaning up to do as well.

I am really pretty pissed off because we had our meeting to discuss things for next year, and things don't look any better for my schedule next year. Once again I will have four preps. Luckily they are the same four, but it still sucks. The other two English teachers will have four preps as well, but that's because they also teach other subjects. Still, it made it so that I couldn't make a fuss about it. This is what I will tentatively be teaching: one class advanced sophomores, one class regular sophomores, two classes freshmen, and two classes seniors. The two classes of seniors made me unhappy, because that means huge senior classes again. But whatever. That's life. The only difference between this schedule and my current schedule is that I will have two freshmen classes instead of two sophomore classes. I was hoping somehow it would work out to me having three preps, but I guess not. This is all the more reason for me to hope that I get a job somewhere else. I really really hope that I do.

Tomorrow is the greatest day ever because I will be at my boyfriend's concert! I can't wait! I really hope we got great seats like we wanted.

Two more kid days! No kidding. I can't believe it. I also have the staff party coming up, and the last day of teachers. It will be really sad for me, though, if I get a job somewhere else and I never got a chance to say goodbye to my children. I will miss some of them terribly.

Speaking of which, we had graduation, which was the last thing that I had to worry about for the seniors this year. I had to help organize that, plus their senior picnic. I did not get wet at the senior picnic this year, proving that this year's seniors are the best seniors ever! They really were such sweethearts, and I totally bawled my eyes out at graduation. Some of the kids said that they saw me crying and it made them cry. Everything went off well for both the picnic and graduation, so I felt very good about that. The senior picnic was the first thing (besides my club I advise) that I was really in charge of, and everything went perfectly. I was so happy.

I need to go and give feedback on 235427625965 journals. I will let you know how the concert goes!

previous - next