current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-09-22 - 10:15 p.m.

Note: This entry was written a few days ago and I forgot to post it.

When I was in graduate school, one day we had to do this thing where we got into groups and used props to create "Super Teacher." This activity was met with a lot of laughs (and a bit of disgust from some people).

In any case, I feel like that's what I'm trying to be. The ever-elusive "Super Teacher." Every day I think about things that I did well, but there are always ten million things that I could do better. This year is going well so far, and I haven't written a single referral. I'm surviving my class of 35 freshmen with few problems. Yet I feel like there is something missing from my classroom, something I'm not sure how to do. I don't know how to explain it.

I'm getting a special ed assistant in two periods, despite the fact that I did not put in any request for one, and I don't want one, and the special ed assistants said that I would be fine without one. It really makes me feel uncomfortable to have one in the room, but this one isn't one that I've had before, so I guess it could be fine. It's not like I'm trying to hide anything that goes on in my classroom, I just am not at the place where I feel completely comfortable having another adult watching while I'm teaching. I also know that my classroom is not necessarily the "typical" English classroom as I don't do things like sentence diagramming (which one of my other colleagues is a big fan of). On the other hand, perhaps this person will actually be helpful for the kids, and maybe I should just get used to it and stop complaining.

There's a few interesting updates to add about angry-young-man #1. Remember my angry-young-skateboarder from last year that ended up getting kicked out of school for threatening Mr. Coolio with bodily harm? The one who would look out the window every day and say, "I wish it was dry so I could go skate"? Apparently that's angry #1's brother!

I figured this out when I noticed that his mom's name was the same as the other kid's mom's name (they have different last names.) It just felt completely ironic, and I also had this overwhelming sense that angry #1 was my second chance.

Not to mention, I talked to one of the special ed people and she was telling me how angry #1's IEP meeting went. She said that angry #1 was very positive about my class and that he really likes me and thinks he can handle the work load. Of course this pleased me to no end--angry #1 likes me!

And you know, he has only demonstrated one hint of anger--when he saw his first grade printout. But as far as behavior goes, he's just such a polite, cute little guy so far. I have yet to see him smile, but he raises his hand when he needs help, and he comes over to ask me questions about what he is supposed to do when he is done, and where he should turn in his assignments. I am really pulling for this kid to do well in high school.

Other than that, I'm really enjoying the kids, but none have stuck out so much. I like most of them a great deal. I have finally gotten their names down, too, at least with this seating arrangement. I'll have to have them move around soon so I can see if I can still get their names.

I'm using the textbooks a lot more this year than I did last year. I like the new textbooks, but I also am tired. I have twice as much to plan for, what feels like twice as much to grade, and the same amount of time. For the last three weekends I've been at school both days working. I'm not even completely caught up, either. It's been nice when it's Justin's turn to come here because then he comes with me and helps me with the easier things to grade, and keeps me company.

Things in this state are going crazy education-wise right now, too. There is talk about cutting the school year down by as much as ten-twenty days now. That means less money, obviously. I assume I would be able to survive on a month's less pay, but it might be hard. Who knows what is going to happen, though, so I'm not going to worry about it right now.

I've been sick since Thursday, but one of my goals is not to take a sick day unless I'm deathly ill. I did a lot of resting up this weekend, aside from working, and Justin was so sweet and helpful again. He cleaned part of my house up and he did all my dishes (again! I haven't done my own dishes in ages). He also made me tea with honey, went with me to get new tires for my car, and washed my car. I swear, I am not using him because he spoils me! I definitely have to stop taking him for granted, though, and show him how much I appreciate him.

I'm getting a new free cell phone! I am also getting a bonus 200 anytime minutes. These things all happened because I triumphed over "the man" a.k.a. AT&T Wireless. Anyway, I think my cell phone is coming tomorrow and it really is free, not free with a rebate that you have to send in. Thank you, Allan, at AT&T Wireless, for becoming my new best friend.

previous - next