current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-07-09 - 3:50 p.m.

I ended up seeing Ben the night of my last entry, after I watched Lost with my mom. I went over to his house and spent the night. Then I spent almost all day on Thursday freaking out about it, and part of Friday. What happened was that he was sick on Wednesday, but I sort of invited myself over anyway because I missed him--it wasn't as if he objected to me coming over, and I gave him a lot of chances to object (like I said if he felt too sick or wanted to be alone, blah blah), but he was like, "No, come on over." He was totally sweet and normal and seemed to like having me there, but despite all that I freaked out over the fact that I had invited myself over. So all day Thursday I was kind of a mess. I overanalyze everything and make everything into a HUGE SIGNIFICANT DEAL, and I really need to stop. We said we were going to do something at some point on Friday (he had the day off), and I was freaking out because I was like, "Okay, if he doesn't call me by X time, that means he doesn't like me and doesn't want to see me today, and what if he never calls me again?" So he hadn't called me by 11:40 AM, and I decided that meant he didn't like me anymore. He hadn't done anything to indicate he didn't like me anymore, but I had gotten myself so worked up over it that him not calling me meant that. So I ended up calling him, and he was in the middle of doing something, but called me right back. He was down visiting his parents, but then he said, "Do you still want to hang out later?" So that meant he still wanted to hang out with me, right? So I felt a little bit better and we made plans to do something later. He ended up getting back to town later than he said, and so then I got myself all worked up over that and thought that meant he didn't care that much to see me before my trip if he wasn't on time. But when we hung out everything seemed fine, and I need to stop freaking out. I did admit that I was feeling grouchy, and so he was trying to make me feel better. I said jokingly that if he wanted to make me feel better he could give me some compliments. He gave me a few compliments and then he was saying that he had been complimenting me all day and that I didn't know it--he was telling me about how he was telling some friends he was visiting about me and what he was saying (how I was a teacher, how much he liked me, etc.) So when he said that it kind of brought it up and I explained a little bit about how I had been feeling (and mainly it was because of how past relationships went). It is so nice having someone who I can actually TALK ABOUT MY FEELINGS WITH. He reassured me that he does still like me and that he is not the kind of person who will get freaked out if I get emotional or worried, and he said he has had girlfriends in the past that are very emotional and overanalyze everything, too. Anyway, I felt a lot better. I am just going to try not to worry unless HE does something to make me think he doesn't like me anymore. Because really he hasn't done anything. We talk every day, we see each other more often than Jose and I saw each other, and when he is with me he is totally affectionate and everything. I just have to trust that if he stops liking me he will tell me.

The only new thing that I am worried about is that he is going to be moving out, and his parents, who live about 45 minutes away, are trying to convince him to move back home to save money. This is a bad idea on so many levels, in my mind, but I guess I will just deal with it if he ends up doing it. It seems like he is leaning against it, but since he wants to get a new car and doesn't have a roommate lined up, I think that he is tempted. I guess the setup is sort of like he has a studio apartment at his parents' house, but STILL. I would be embarrassed to move back home at 27, he'll have to commute about an hour to work each way, all of his friends are here, he'll put a bunch of miles on his car, gas prices are up...there are a million arguments against it. I really hope he doesn't do it. I think he is going to decide by tomorrow since he needs to go sign the lease at the new place. I suppose he could end up trying out moving home and then if it doesn't work out he can always move in a few months. I guess the only plus side is that maybe he would end up spending the night at my house more often. I really hope he doesn't do it, though. I don't think he will really end up saving THAT much money, particularly if he does find a roommate.

My friend Ava is moving for her new job NEXT WEEK. I can't believe how soon she is leaving. We are going to breakfast that morning, and then that will be the last time I will see her until she comes back to Portland to visit. I'm sad.

I'm currently obsessed with the song "Goodnight, Goodnight" by Hot Hot Heat. I love that song so much!

I'm leaving for the airport in one hour! The worst thing is that I completely forgot about my cat. I haven't gone on any trips since I had her, and she is so independent that I completely forgot that she needs someone to come feed her and play with her while I am gone. Luckily Ben asked me yesterday, "So who is taking care of your cat while you're gone?" I have to think that I would have remembered, but that really freaked me out that I hadn't thought about it. So my mom is going to come over and check on her every day. Poor cat.

I have been practicing blackjack online and trying to memorize the rules. My goal is to play Paigow Poker and Blackjack when I am there. I hope I have a good time!

Okay, I need to get off the internet.

previous - next